files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
73°F | 50°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 55°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
WHS women qualify for state PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Saturday, 31 October 2009 12:46

The Watauga High women's cross country team qualified for the state meet next Saturday in Winston-Salem.


WHS had four runners in the top 20 and finished with 77 points and in second place behind T.C.Roberson at Class 4A Western Regional at McAlpine Park in Charlotte. The Rams dominated the meet with a team score of 35.

Kayla Schneider paced WHS by finishing sixth in the time of 19:07; Darby Middlebrook was tenth, freshman Madison Harmon was 17th and Hannah Barbour was 18th in the field.

Laura Hoer of T.C.Roberson won the regional title in 17:58. In all, the Rams, a Class 3A powerhouse that moved up to the Class 4A level this year, had five runners among the top 20 finishers, three of which were in the top ten.

Ardrey Kell and Lake Norman also qualified their teams for the state meet next weekend at Tanglewood Park in Winston-Salem. Becca Deloache and Emily Zizzi of Myers Park, Lily Clarke of A.C.Reynolds and Arden Mattachini of Providence were the individual qualifiers.

The news wasn't very good for the WHS men's team. The Pioneers finished tenth in the field and didn't quailify for state. The Pioneers had a team score of 265. Ardrey Kell bested the field with 48 points. Myers Park finished a distant second with 87 points. T.C.Roberson and Mooresville were third and fourth respectively and qualified their teams for the state meet next week.

Josh Cox of Mooresville won the regional championship in the time of 15:58. Daniel Osborne paced the Pioneers. He was 24th. Clark Brackney was 45th. Getisso Dentamo of Mallard Creek, Jason Capps of A.C.Reynolds, Cameron Wells of South Mecklenburg, Alex Griggs of Alexander Central and Michael Marshburn of Lake Norman all qualified as individuals.

The Class 4A women's race will begin at 3:30 pm at Tanglewood Park next Saturday, November 7.



Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email