BOONE, N.C. — App State had a league-best 22 wrestling student-athletes make the 2020-21 Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll that was released Thursday.

That total contributed to the Mountaineers posting a semester GPA over 3.0 as a team during a year in which they set a school record with seven NCAA Championships qualifiers, including five who earned a top-20 seed and one All-American in Jonathan Millner (149 pounds). With five conference champions in 2021, the Mountaineers tied NC State and Arizona State for the lead in Division I wrestling.

The honor roll members were highlighted by two wrestlers, Kobe Early and Brett Mordecai, who made the list for Commissioner's Medals that are awarded to student-athletes who attain a GPA of 3.8 or higher throughout the year.
In addition to Early and Mordecai, the other honor roll members for 2020-21 were, in alphabetical order: Tommy AskeyDawson BatesBarrett BlakelyJackson BolesAnthony BritoMichael BurchellPaul CarsonSean CarterMason FiscellaThomas FlitzWill FormatoHeath GonyerTyler KellisonJonathan MillnerEthan OakleyTristan PughRamon RodriguezCodi RussellCaleb Smith and Joshua Spurlin.

The Honor Roll consists of student-athletes who achieve a 3.0 minimum GPA for the academic year while being a member of the final squad list during their sport's traditional season.

Earlier this week, App State had five student-athletes named to the Academic All-Conference team.
With the Mountaineers posting the second-highest total in the league, head coach JohnMark Bentley's program was represented on the list by Brito, Burchell, Flitz, Formato and Smith.
To be eligible, student-athletes had to carry at least a 3.3 cumulative GPA at the conclusion of the spring semester and meet participation requirements during the 2020-21 season. Additionally, the student-athletes must have successfully completed at least three semesters at their institutions, making true freshmen and first-year transfers ineligible for inclusion.