HICKORY, N.C. – The Lenoir-Rhyne Men's Lacrosse team punched their ticket into the SAC Finals with a 20-8 win over Tusculum Friday afternoon at Moretz Stadium. The 20 goals are a postseason record for the Bears as LR will advance to the SAC championship for the first time since 2018. 

Final: No. 6 Lenoir-Rhyne 20, Tusculum 8
Records: Lenoir-Rhyne (12-1, 9-1 SAC), Tusculum (7-5, 3-4 SAC)
Location: Moretz Stadium


  • The Pioneers took an early 2-0 lead with two quick goals in the game's first 2:43 but it was all Bears after that. 
  • After facing the early deficit, the Bears then rattled off the next 12goals including out-scoring Tusculum 9-0 in the second quarter. 
  • Eric Dickinson and Myles Moffat each had three goals for the Bears during the 12-0 run. 
  • Both Dickinson and Moffat finished with 7 points on the afternoon to lead the Bears. 
  • Toron Eccleston added three second-half goals en route to his game-high five goals on the day as ten different Bears scored in the contest. 
  • The Bears defense forced the Pioneers into 23 turnovers and were led by Victor Powell's three caused turnovers. 
  • Noah Johnson had nine saves on the afternoon and the junior now has a total of 38 career saves in SAC tournament play.


  •  Before today, the only other matchup between these teams in the SAC tournament was in 2016 when the Bears beat Tusculum in the semifinals. The Bears went on to capture their first and only SAC tournament championship with a win over Queens in the finals.
  • The 20 goals today are the most in a postseason game since the Bears scored 18 against Tusculum in that 2016 semifinal game.
  • Bears move to 5-2 all-time in SAC semi-final history. 
  • Bears held Tusculum scoreless in the second quarter, which was LR's fifth time in SAC tournament history they held their opponent scoreless in quarter. 
  • Today's game was Dickinson's 70th career game played. He is the first LR player to play in 70 career games. 

UP NEXT:  Bears will face the No. 2 seed Wingate in the SAC Finals on Sunday at 1:00 PM at Moretz Stadium