ROBBINSVILLE, NC - The Avery High wrestling team had 10 state qualifiers on Saturday at the 1A Western Regional Championships. The Vikings also had five regional champions, including one runner-up finisher, a third-place finisher and a fourth-place finisher. River Griffith of the Vikings was the Most Outstanding Wrestler.

The state finals will be in Greensboro next weekend, February 14-16.

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Joe Jordan of Avery County
2nd Place - Jayden Nowell of Robbinsville
3rd Place - David Javier of Elkin
4th Place - Norton Jacob of Cherokee
1st Place Match
Joe Jordan (Avery County) 45-3, Fr. over Jayden Nowell (Robbinsville) 39-8, Fr. (MD 9-0)
3rd Place Match
David Javier (Elkin) 46-1, Fr. over Norton Jacob (Cherokee) 17-8, Jr. (Fall 2:00)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Ethan Shell of Avery County
2nd Place - Matt Lovin of Robbinsville
3rd Place - Keith Cook of Hayesville
4th Place - Averil Lafferty of Alleghany
1st Place Match
Ethan Shell (Avery County) 50-3, Fr. over Matt Lovin (Robbinsville) 27-14, Sr. (Fall 4:36)
3rd Place Match
Keith Cook (Hayesville) 21-5, Sr. over Averil Lafferty (Alleghany) 40-13, So. (MD 8-0)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Dylan Lowery of Mitchell
2nd Place - Daniel Ferguson of East Wilkes
3rd Place - McClay Phillips of Cherokee
4th Place - Trevin Robinson of Mount Airy
1st Place Match
Dylan Lowery (Mitchell) 38-3, Jr. over Daniel Ferguson (East Wilkes) 25-7, So. (Fall 3:51)
3rd Place Match
McClay Phillips (Cherokee) 36-11, Sr. over Trevin Robinson (Mount Airy) 20-13, So. (Fall 1:21)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - River Griffith of Avery County (Most Outstanding Wrestler)
2nd Place - Evan Wagoner of Alleghany
3rd Place - Preston Burnett of Polk County
4th Place - Dylan Vandeventer of East Wilkes
1st Place Match
River Griffith (Avery County) 47-3, Jr. over Evan Wagoner (Alleghany) 46-11, Jr. (Fall 1:45)
3rd Place Match
Preston Burnett (Polk County) 34-15, Jr. over Dylan Vandeventer (East Wilkes) 12-10, Jr. (Fall 1:48)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Nathan Fisher of Robbinsville
2nd Place - Jonah Hayes of Avery County
3rd Place - Nathan Brock of Swain County
4th Place - Sebastian Perna of Mountain Island Charter
1st Place Match
Nathan Fisher (Robbinsville) 26-8, Jr. over Jonah Hayes (Avery County) 38-13, So. (Dec 2-1)
3rd Place Match
Nathan Brock (Swain County) 30-7, Jr. over Sebastian Perna (Mountain Island Charter) 31-11, Jr. (TF-1.5 3:37 (15-0))

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Kade Millsaps of Robbinsville
2nd Place - Jonas Trejo of Swain County
3rd Place - Johnathan Cable of Avery County
4th Place - Sterlin Holbrook of Starmount
1st Place Match
Kade Millsaps (Robbinsville) 44-4, Sr. over Jonas Trejo (Swain County) 33-4, Jr. (Dec 6-2)
3rd Place Match
Johnathan Cable (Avery County) 32-11, Fr. over Sterlin Holbrook (Starmount) 25-7, So. (Dec 4-1)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Israel Maltba of Mitchell
2nd Place - Lucas Brown of Swain County
3rd Place - Austin Bauguess of East Wilkes
4th Place - Dalton Towe of Avery County
1st Place Match
Israel Maltba (Mitchell) 36-9, Sr. over Lucas Brown (Swain County) 32-11, Jr. (Dec 10-5)
3rd Place Match
Austin Bauguess (East Wilkes) 33-3, Jr. over Dalton Towe (Avery County) 29-20, So. (Fall 3:41)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Austin Tumbarello of Mount Airy
2nd Place - Sam Everhardt of Swain County
3rd Place - Marcus Loving of Bradford Prep
4th Place - James Russ of Avery County
1st Place Match
Austin Tumbarello (Mount Airy) 22-5, Sr. over Sam Everhardt (Swain County) 18-3, Jr. (Dec 11-4)
3rd Place Match
Marcus Loving (Bradford Prep) 38-7, Sr. over James Russ (Avery County) 33-23, Sr. (Fall 1:23)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Dustin Blackburn of East Wilkes
2nd Place - Austin Lovin of Robbinsville
3rd Place - Zane Ramey of Rosman
4th Place - Dustin Rector of Alleghany
1st Place Match
Dustin Blackburn (East Wilkes) 39-2, Jr. over Austin Lovin (Robbinsville) 21-10, Sr. (SV-1 5-3)
3rd Place Match
Zane Ramey (Rosman) 32-9, Sr. over Dustin Rector (Alleghany) 41-14, Jr. (Fall 1:49)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Damian Lossiah of Swain County
2nd Place - Joseph Becker of East Surry
3rd Place - Luke Rayfield of Cherryville
4th Place - Trey Thompson of Polk County
1st Place Match
Damian Lossiah (Swain County) 27-10, So. over Joseph Becker (East Surry) 14-6, Sr. (Fall 4:27)
3rd Place Match
Luke Rayfield (Cherryville) 22-4, Sr. over Trey Thompson (Polk County) 24-14, Jr. (Fall 3:17)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Payne Anderson of Robbinsville
2nd Place - Cody Long of Swain County
3rd Place - Joseph Hampton of Alleghany
4th Place - Nathan Cox of East Surry
1st Place Match
Payne Anderson (Robbinsville) 33-6, Sr. over Cody Long (Swain County) 30-9, Jr. (Dec 4-3)
3rd Place Match
Joseph Hampton (Alleghany) 41-16, Sr. over Nathan Cox (East Surry) 17-12, Jr. (Dec 4-3)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Lucas Andrews of Avery County
2nd Place - Isaac Wilkinson of Robbinsville
3rd Place - John Bennett of Mount Airy
4th Place - Cyle Ponchot of Swain County
1st Place Match
Lucas Andrews (Avery County) 45-4, Jr. over Isaac Wilkinson (Robbinsville) 22-8, Sr. (Dec 7-1)
3rd Place Match
John Bennett (Mount Airy) 26-6, Sr. over Cyle Ponchot (Swain County) 36-8, Sr. (Dec 3-2)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Levi Andrews of Avery County
2nd Place - Kyle Fink of Robbinsville
3rd Place - Mitchell Edwards of East Surry
4th Place - Eric Olvera of Mount Airy
1st Place Match
Levi Andrews (Avery County) 48-5, Fr. over Kyle Fink (Robbinsville) 24-6, Fr. (TB-1 2-1)
3rd Place Match
Mitchell Edwards (East Surry) 18-1, Sr. over Eric Olvera (Mount Airy) 19-6, Jr. (Fall 3:29)

Guaranteed Places
1st Place - Noland Brown of Swain County
2nd Place - Hudson Boone of Mitchell
3rd Place - CJ Henderson of Elkin
4th Place - Zachary Vance of Avery County
1st Place Match
Noland Brown (Swain County) 31-4, Sr. over Hudson Boone (Mitchell) 17-2, Sr. (Dec 3-2)
3rd Place Match
CJ Henderson (Elkin) 28-2, So. over Zachary Vance (Avery County) 26-27, Fr. (Fall 4:23)

Team Scores
1 Avery County 208.0
2 Robbinsville 200.5
3 Swain County 182.5
4 Mount Airy 105.0
5 East Wilkes 101.0
6 Mitchell 92.0
7 Alleghany 91.5
8 East Surry 73.5
9 Polk County 54.0
10 Elkin 53.0