Lenoir-Rhyne University's Ivan Vieitez has been named to the 2014 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-American Third Team in baseball. Vieitez is the first player for the Bears to garner All-America accolades

since Dan Ford (honorable mention) in 2008.



Vieitez, a sophomore outfielder from Miami, Fla., earned All-Southeast Region honors by three different publications - Daktronics, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and the American Baseball Coaches Association - and was a First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference pick for the second year in a row this spring.


Vieitez led the league in batting average (.451), third-best in the nation, in addition to team-leading 39 runs, 65 hits, 15 doubles, four triples, four home runs, 38 runs batted in, a .694 slugging percentage and a .539 on-base percentage.


Vieitez was also the Bears' top pitcher, sporting a 5-5 record with a team-best 2.95 earned run average, three complete games, two shutouts and 46 strikeouts.


The D2SIDA All-America and All-Region baseball teams are sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The teams are voted on by the members of D2SIDA, NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors Association. Daktronics has sponsored the baseball All-America program since 2007.


The online nomination and voting processes are powered by Sidearm Sports. Headquartered in Syracuse, NY, Sidearm Sports is the official provider of college athletic websites for over 6000 sports organizations at all levels of competition. To receive more information on how your institution can partner with Sidearm Sports for a customized website solution, visit sidearmsports.com.


2014 Daktronics NCAA Division II

Baseball All-America Teams


C - Nolan Johnson, Jr., Minnesota State

1B - Giancarlo Brugnoni, Sr., Grand Valley State (Mich.)

2B - Daniel Fraga, Sr., North Carolina-Pembroke

3B - Tony Viger, Sr., Augustana (S.D.)

SS - Will Kengor, Sr., Slippery Rock (Pa.)

OF - Austin Kaiser, Sr., Colorado Mesa

OF - Jamie Potts, Jr., Grand Valley State (Mich.)

OF - Nick Thimesch, Sr., Drury (Mo.)

DH - Wes Koenig, Sr., St. Edward's (Texas)

UTIL (non-pitcher) - Kyle Dalton, Jr., Concordia-St. Paul

UTIL (pitcher) - Kye Winter, Sr., Augustana (S.D.)

SP - Dan Altavilla, Jr., Mercyhurst (Pa.)

SP - Tyler Badamo, Sr., Dowling (N.Y.)

SP - Jason Hoppe, Sr., Minnesota State

SP - Jordan DeLorenzo, Jr., West Florida

RP - Ben Criscuolo, Fr., Southern New Hampshire



C - Steve Hazel, Jr., Georgia College

1B - Joey Miller, Sr., Concord (W. Va.)

2B - Logan Knox, Jr., Regis (Colo.)

3B - Frank Crinella, So., Merrimack (Mass.)

SS - Erik Lunde, Sr., Lander (N.C.)

OF - Bret Blevins, Sr., Concord (W. Va.)

OF - Chris Knott, Sr., East Stroudsburg (Pa.)

OF - Brandon Reitano, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.)

DH - Stephen Dezzi, Jr., Tampa (Fla.)

UTIL (non-pitcher) - Richard Mejia, Sr., Adelphi (N.Y.)

UTIL (pitcher) - Frank Samiuk, Jr., Wilmington (Del.)

SP - Craig Brooks, Jr., Catawba (N.C.)

SP - Brannon Easterling, Sr., St. Edward's (Texas)

SP - Paul Hvozdovic, Sr., Shepherd (W. Va.)

SP - Preston Packrall, Sr., Tampa (Fla.)

RP - Jesse Cooper, So., Seton Hill (Pa.)



C - Spencer Wolfe, Jr., Shepherd (W. Va.)

1B - Connor Lewis, Sr., Lander (N.C.)

2B - Kevin Zak, Jr., Grand Valley State (Mich.)

3B - Tyler Ding, Sr., Tampa (Fla.)

SS - Todd Standish, Sr., Minnesota State

OF - Michael Danner, Sr., Tampa (Fla.)

OF - Patrick Grady, Sr., Lander (N.C.)

OF - Ivan Vieitez, Jr., Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.)

DH - Nico Delerme, Sr., East Stroudsburg (Pa.)

UTIL (non-pitcher) - Zach Stone, Sr., Millersville (Pa.)

UTIL (pitcher) - Troy Cruz, So., UC-San Diego

SP - Nick Baker, Sr., Cal. State-Chico

SP - Will Landsheft, Sr., Drury (Mo.)

SP - Trevor Oaks, So., California Baptist

SP - Jamie Tremi, Jr., Wilmington (Del.)

RP - Reese Gregory, So., St. Cloud State



Sal Giardina (C, Lynn, Fla.); Stetson Olson (1B, Minnesota State); Jake Peterson (2B, Augustana, S.D.); Ryan Cranmer (3B, Newberry, S.C.); Tony Piazza (3B, Regis, Colo.); Brody Miller (SS, Montana State-Billings); Michael Lott (OF, Shepherd, W. Va.); Cody Robinson (OF, Northeastern State, Okla.); Brad Wilson (OF, Central Missouri); Patrick Rients (DH, Southwest Minnesota State); Alex DeBellis (UT non-pitcher, Lynn, Fla.); Taylor Taska (UT pitcher, Texas A&M-Kingsville); Jonathon Wandling (UT pitcher, Southern Indiana); George Asmus (SP, Sonoma State, Calif.); David Heintz (SP, Tampa, Fla.); Brad Lohse (SP, Cal. State-Chico); Chris Murphy (SP, Millersville, Pa.); Luke Barker (RP, Cal. State-Chico); Bill Mendek (RP, Lynn, Fla.)


Ron Lenz Pitcher of the Year: Dan Altavilla, Mercyhurst University (Pa.)

Ron Lenz Player of the Year: Giancarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State University (Mich.)




Photo Courtesy: Ivan Vieitez, L-R Athletics