files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
52°F | 69°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
50°F | 56°F | 80%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
L-R Ranked Second In Final D-II Poll PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 24 December 2013 05:59

The Lenoir-Rhyne University Football Team (13-2), fresh off a trip to the national championship game, finished the season ranked second in the final AFCA NCAA Division II Coaches Top 25 Poll of the

year. AFCA is the American Football Coaches Association of America.



Lenoir-Rhyne lost in the 2013 NCAA Division II National Championship game to top-ranked Northwest Missouri State (15-0), 43-28, last Saturday at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Ala.


L-R set a school record for wins in a single season and earned its fourth trip to the title game in school history this fall. Lenoir-Rhyne also went to the NAIA National Championship game in 1959, 1960 and 1962 with its lone title coming in 1960.


On its way to the championship game, L-R defeated several teams who finished the year ranked nationally including Carson-Newman (No. 17) twice, Newberry (No. 23), North Alabama (No. 10) and West Chester (No. 4).


Lenoir-Rhyne set the all-time NCAA record for rushing yards in a single season with 5,563 and won its third straight South Atlantic Conference Championship in 2013. The Bears also finished with a perfect 7-0 mark in league play this past year.


L-R was one of four schools to earn a top seed in their respective regions entering the postseason and won three home contests to earn a berth to the national championship game.




Football Coaches Top 25 Poll

(December 23, 2013)


1. Northwest Missouri State (32) 15-0

2. Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.) 13-2

3. Grand Valley State (Mich.) 12-3

4. West Chester (Pa.) 13-2

5. St. Cloud State (Minn.) 12-2

6. Minnesota State-Mankato 11-1

7. Colorado State-Pueblo 11-1

8. Minnesota-Duluth 11-2

9. Shepherd (W.Va.) 11-1

10. North Alabama 10-3

11. West Texas A&M 11-3

12. Ohio Dominican 10-1

13. Henderson State (Ark.) 11-1

14. Winston-Salem State (N.C.) 10-2

15. North Carolina-Pembroke 9-2

16. Bloomsburg (Pa.) 10-2

17. Carson-Newman (Tenn.) 10-3

18. Indianapolis (Ind.) 10-2

19. Pittsburg State (Kan.) 10-2

20. Emporia State (Kan.) 9-2

21. Slippery Rock (Pa.) 9-3

22. Saginaw Valley State (Mich.) 9-3

23. Newberry (S.C.) 9-3

24. Indiana (Pa.) 9-2

25. Tuskegee (Ala.) 8-3



Other Receiving Votes: Missouri Western St., 37; Azusa Pacific (Calif.), 36; American International (Mass.), 34; West Alabama, 25; Virginia St., 21; Tarleton St. (Texas), 17; New Haven (Conn.), 14; Harding (Ark.), 13; Colorado School of Mines, 9; Midwestern St. (Texas), 9; Delta St. (Miss.), 5; Shippensburg (Pa.), 5; Washburn (Kan.), 5; Chadron St. (Neb.), 1; Eastern New Mexico, 1; Ouachita Baptist (Ark.), 1.



Photo Courtesy; Mike Houston, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email