files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
66°F | 42°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 38°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
FEMA Flood Assistance to High Country PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Wednesday, 30 October 2013 04:40

Six High Country and Foothills counties have been declared eligible for disaster aid after last summer’s heavy rains and flooding. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of North Carolina to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, flooding, and mudslides on July 27, 2013.  
The President's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and mudslides in Ashe, Avery, Catawba, Lincoln, Watauga and Wilkes counties.   
Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.  
Michael Bolch has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations for our area.  Bolch said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.
The Release:


Fact Sheet

Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama's disaster declaration issued for the State of North Carolina.
Assistance for the State and Affected Local Governments Can Include as Required:
Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for removing debris from public areas and for emergency measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health.  Emergency protective measures assistance is available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures. (Source: FEMA funded, state administered.)

Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities. (Source: FEMA funded, state administered.)

Payment of not more than 75 percent of the approved costs for hazard mitigation projects undertaken by state and local governments to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.  (Source: FEMA funded, state administered.)

How to Apply for Assistance:

Application procedures for state, tribal and local governments will be explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials. Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Stay informed of FEMA’s activities online: videos and podcasts available at and ; follow us on Twitter at  and on Facebook at

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email