files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
72°F | 53°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
69°F | 53°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Seven LRU Players Earn All-SAC Preseason Honors PDF Print
Written by LRU Sports Informaton   
Thursday, 28 July 2011 14:17

Seven members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Football Team garnered 2011 All-South Atlantic Conference Preseason accolades, league officials announced today. Four Bears were selected to the all-conference first team while three players earned second-team all-league honors.

L-R's senior offensive lineman Chandler Rearden (Greenwood, S.C.), junior offensive lineman Kaleb Myrick (Loganville, Ga.), junior defensive lineman Brandon Martin (Roebuck, S.C.) and junior linebacker Demetrius Green (Cedartown, Ga.) were all voted to the All-SAC First Team.
Rearden, a 2011 preseason NCAA Division II All-American by Lindy's Magazine as well, is a two-time all-conference first-team honoree (2008 and 2010) and won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy last year.
The trophy is given annually to the top offensive lineman in the league. Rearden is the first player in school history to win the award.
Rearden was also named to five All-American teams last year (AFCA, Associated Press, Don Hansen's, and Daktronics) and is joined on the first-team offensive line by Myrick.
Myrick earned second-team All-SAC laurels last year and the duo helped the Bears lead NCAA Division II in rushing (319.5 ypg) in 2010.
Martin, a 2010 First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference pick, led the squad in quarterback sacks (7.5) to go along with 22 tackles and was chosen to the Consensus Draft Services Preseason NCAA Division II All-American First Team this summer.
Green finished second on the team in tackles (75) last fall to go along with three sacks, an interception and a fumble recovery.
Senior defensive lineman Nelson Bullard (Shelby, N.C.), senior defensive back Jamont Jones (Washington, N.C.) and senior wide receiver Nick Stutts (Statesville, N.C.) earned second-team all-conference preseason accolades for Lenoir-Rhyne.
Bullard was a Second-Team All-SAC pick in 2010 after finishing with 31 takedowns and six sacks while Jones was fourth on the team in tackles (50) to go along with a pair of interceptions. Jones is also L-R's top kick returning specialist (23.5 ypr last year on kickoffs).
Stutts was by far Lenoir-Rhyne's top wide receiver last season after logging 35 catches for 544 yards and a pair of touchdown receptions.
L-R, under first-year mentor Mike Houston, looks to build on last season's 7-4 campaign and its first winning season in 16 years.
Lenoir-Rhyne was voted third in the 2011 SAC Coaches Preseason Poll and opens the season against Concord on the road Saturday, September 3 beginning at 7 p.m. L-R's first home game is scheduled for Saturday, September 17, against Carson-Newman at 7 p.m.


2011 All-South Atlantic Conference


Preseason Football Teams


QB - Bo Cordell, Tusculum
WR - Deonte' Gist, Tusculum
WR - Rashaad Carter, Tusculum
WR - Chris Bowden, Wingate
RB - Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB - Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
OL - Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL - Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Kaleb Myrick, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Mike Arndt, Wingate
OL - Lucas Mathis, Carson-Newman
TE - Michael Rodriquez, Tusculum
LS - Skylar West, Tusculum
PK - Carlos Lopez, Carson-Newman


DL - Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL - Brandon Martin, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL - Damein Lee, Catawba
DL - Arterio Arnold, Newberry
LB - Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB - Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB - Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
LB - Lakeem Perry, Catawba
DB - Jumal Rolle, Catawba
DB - Salonik Amos, Brevard
DB - Tarvin Jones, Carson-Newman
DB - Robert Fletcher, Wingate
P - Eric Watts, Brevard
RS - LJ McCray, Catawba


QB - Cody Haffly, Wingate
WR - Brandon Bostick, Newberry
WR - Eric Watts, Brevard
WR - Nick Stutts, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB - Vince Jordan, Wingate
RB - Brandon Baker, Carson-Newman
RB - Josh Wright, Catawba
OL - Caleb Campbell, Brevard
OL - Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill
OL - Chase Gamble, Newberry
OL - Dustin Moorehead, Tusculum
OL - Austin Lowe, Wingate
TE - Matt Cox, Carson-Newman
LS - DJ Davis, Catawba
PK - Thomas Trexler, Catawba


DL - Byron Bell, Carson-Newman
DL - Nelson Bullard, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL - Jack Taylor, Wingate
DL - Terrence Smith, Tusculum
LB - Ryan Helton, Carson-Newman
LB - Apollo Stretch, Newberry
LB - Cory Johnson, Catawba
LB - Jared Seate, Wingate
DB - Michael Gist, Brevard
DB - Oliver Davis, Carson-Newman
DB - Jamont Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB - Justin Squirewell, Wingate
P - BJ Richmond, Mars Hill
RS - Max Elliott, Newberry


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email