N.C. Governor Roy Cooper will visit the High Country on Friday, June 28th for two separate invite-only events.

The Avery County Board of Education met last Thursday to form a plan of finding a new school superintendent after Bryan Taylor’s resignation.

The Boone Tourism Development Authority unanimously passed its 2019/2020 budget of a little over $1.5 million dollars at their meeting last Wednesday.

The town of Boone is looking for local World War II veterans who can serve as grand marshals for the Boone Fourth of July parade.  

To meet the needs of local health care providers, Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute (CCC&TI) has added a new, short-term training program to prepare students for work in the mental health care field.

A man escaped serious injury after his truck overturned off of a gravel road Monday, June 24th.

56-year-old Richard Lee Crump was arrested and charged with murder after Caldwell County deputies responded to a shooting June 22nd.

For Fiscal Year 2019, when compared to the prior year through May 30, North Carolina experienced an increase in General Fund receipts which includes tax and non-tax receipts. 

The Blue Ridge Women of Agriculture are hosting a special Flower and Honey Day on Tuesday, June 25th from 4:00pm-7:00pm at The King Street Farmer’s Market.

Two people were struck by lightning near the Blue Ridge Parkway during a Cub Scout camping trip.