The Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic continues to pose a looming threat to the health and safety of the people of Avery County. Avery County Government continues to be proactive.

A statement from Watauga County Sheriff Len Hagaman concerning the Governor's Stay At Home order was released Monday.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Friday March 27, Representative Virginia Foxx (R-NC) issued the following statement on the House’s passage of S.3548, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act:

Watauga County Schools Issues Statement Regarding Governor Cooper’s Announcement of Statewide Stay at Home Order, sets additional instructional material pick up date for Monday, March 30.

Bill Fisher spoke with Boone Police Chief Dana Crawford Monday morning (3/30) about the Governor's Stay At Home order and how it affects citizens.

Watauga County, in conjunction with the Towns of Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock, Boone and Seven Devils, will be closing all playgrounds, courts, and picnic shelters, effective Monday, March 30th at 12:00pm until further notice.