Local governments, houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations in Watauga, Avery, Yancy counties, as well as Buncombe, Haywood, Madison, and Transylvania counties have until Oct. 22 to submit requests for FEMA Public Assistance.

FEMA extended the deadline from Oct. 7 at the request of the state of North Carolina. The deadline to apply in Ashe, Graham, Jackson and Mitchell counties is Oct. 31.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure.

Houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations may be eligible for FEMA Public Assistance, including organizations that fed or sheltered survivors after the storm.

For additional information visit