The Watauga County Board of Elections on Thursday welcomed Michael Behrent who was appointed by Governor Roy Cooper to be Chair of the Watauga County Board of Elections.

Behrent is replacing Jane Ann Hodges who resigned due to health concerns.

According to the Watauga Democrat, Behrent is an associate professor in the History Department at Appalachian State University, and serves as the university's Faculty Senate chair.

In a statement, Matthew Snyder, director of the Watauga County Board of Elections welcomed Behrent as new Chair and said the board appreciates his service to Watauga County voters during this unusual time.

Snyder also thanked Jane Ann Hodges for her years of dedicated service to the citizens of Watauga County as Director and as Board Chair.

Hodges joined the board on March 29, 2018, and has served as the chair since that time.