The Watauga High School Pioneer Playmakers won four awards at the 71st Annual Convention of the Southeastern Theatre Conference in Louisville, Kentucky.

The Mountain Times reports Elise Bednar received Best Supporting Performance, and Zeb Scott won All Star Cast recognition. Jayce McClure received Best Sound Design.

The Pioneer Playmakers also attended many workshops with theater professionals and several auditioning in front of over 100 colleges and universities from all over the United States.

WHS theater teacher Sarah Miller said all were grateful to the community for helping to raise the money needed for the Playmakers to travel to the Conference.

Beanstalk Community Theatre also made the journey to Louisville and performed “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,” receiving the 2020 Spirit of the Festival award.