The Watauga Board of Elections approved 109 absentee and provisional ballots Wednesday.

The Watauga Democrat reports Dustin Hicks, Loretta Clawson and Nancy LaPlaca will serve on the Town Council. The results will not be official until later in the day Friday November 15, but according to the report, Board of Elections’ Director Matthew Snyder says the numbers are not likely to change.

Dustin Hicks was the top finisher with 891 votes, Loretta Clawson second with 880 votes, and Nancy LaPlaca was third with 863 votes. Virginia Roseman was just behind with 847 votes.

Hicks and Clawson will serve four-year terms, LaPlaca will serve a two-year term.

During the meeting Wednesday, two absentee ballots – one from Boone and one from Beech Mountain – were approved. Jimmie Accardi and Wendel Sauer from Beech Mountain each picked up a vote, and so did Clawson and Roseman.

Unofficial election results from Blowing Rock, Beech Mountain and Seven Devils remained unchanged.

The Watauga County Board of Elections will meet on Tuesday, November 19 at 5:00 pm in the small courtroom located in the Watauga County Courthouse. The Board will discuss and hear public comment on the possibility of splitting the North Fork Precinct into the Cove Creek Precinct and Meat Camp Precinct.

The Board will also discuss moving the Cove Creek Election Day Polling Place to Zionville Firestation # 2.

The public is invited.