Governor Roy Cooper has selected Democrat Jane Hodges as Chair of the Watauga County Board of Elections.

Hodges joins board members and fellow Democrats Marvin Williamsen and Matthew Walpole.

Republicans Nancy Owen and Eric Eller are the other two board members, giving Democrats a 3-2 edge.

The Watauga Board of Elections is set to hold a special meeting today to officially swear in the new board members.