The filing period for the May Primary election opened at noon Monday, and continues through noon Wednesday February 28th.

In Watauga, among those filing For Sheriff were incumbent Len Hagaman and challengers David Searcy and Tim Holman.
For County Commissioners incumbents Billy Kennedy  and Larry Turnbow, as well as David Blust and Tommy Sofield.
Diane Deal and Travis Critcher filed for Watauga Clerk of Court.
Jason K. Cornett, Gary Childers and Jay Fenwick filed for Board of Education.
Sen. Deanna Ballard filed for State Senate District 45.
Also among the first day filers was Ray Russell for State house in District 93.  Russell announced his intention to run for State house back in October. According to a release from his campaign, so far, Russell is the only Democrat to announce for the seat. Rep. Jonathan Jordan is the incumbent and did not file Monday, but is expected to do so.

In Ashe County, for Sheriff, B Phil Howell, J.E. Bucky Absher, James (Jimmy) Hendrix have filed to run.
For Ashe County Commissioners, Todd A. McNeill, William Sands filed.
For Clerk of Court,  Pam W.  Barlow filed.
For Register of Deeds, Deaett Roten filed.
For US House District 5, Jenny Marshall has file to run.
NC Senate District 45: Deanna Ballard, Shirley Blackburn Randleman
NC House District 93: Ray Russell

In Avery, for Sheriff: Kevin Frye
Clerk of Court: Lisa F. Daniels
District Attorney: Seth Banks
NC Senate District 46: Warren Daniel
US House District 5: Jenny Marshall
The filing period for judicial offices is June 18 through 29th and filing for Soil and Water Conservation will be June 11 through July 16th.  Only one judicial seat will be up for re-election, that of Gary Gavenus in the 24th Judicial district of the 8th division of Superior Court, which includes Avery, Watauga, Mitchell and Yancey counties among others.