Two incumbent North Carolina State Senators will be running against each other come election time in November.

According to the Watauga Democrat, the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina approved and adopted new state legislative maps last week that will put District 45 Senator Deanna Ballard and District 30 Senator Shirley B. Randleman in the same district.

The redrawn District 45 includes Watauga, Ashe, Wilkes, and Alleghany Counties as well as the western half of Surry County. The new District 45 no longer includes Avery and Caldwell Counties.

Randleman, the old District 30 incumbent will now face Ballard for the District 45 seat.

Under the court-approved maps, the North Carolina House District 93 will still contain Watauga and Ashe counties, represented by Jonathan Jordan.

The new maps retain changes made by the North Carolina General Assembly in August of 2017, after previous maps were ruled as unconstitutional racial gerrymanders.