files/0 (1).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
54°F | 83°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
61°F | 84°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
files/App Brian Estates.png
Election updates! PDF Print
Written by Lauren Ohnesorge   
Thursday, 19 July 2007 05:43

Here's the latest on who's filed in Watauga, Avery, Ashe, Wilkes and Caldwell counties. New entries are italicized. Candidates have until Friday to file for municipal elections.

The filing statements we have access to are also available for you to view. For filing statements, click on an underlined candidate's name.

Watauga County

Board of Elections- 828-265-8061


(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats)

Loretta Clawson- Mayor

Lynne Mason- Council

Milton (Bunk) Span- Council

Elizabeth (Liz) Aycock- Council

Jeremy Blocker- Council

Stephen Phillips- Council

Blowing Rock

(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

Rita Wiseman- Council

Patsy Fountain- Council

Lawrence James- Mayor

Beech Mountain

(Positions available: three Council seats)

Richard (Rick) Owen- Council

Paul Piquet- Council

Randall (Randy) Corn- Council

Seven Devils

(Positions available: three Council seats)

Ricard DeMott- Council

Clyde McLean- Council

David T. Hooper- Council

Bill Wilkinson- Council

Avery County

Board of Elections- 828-733-8282


(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats)

Stanley Hollifield- Alderman


(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats)

Dale Henson- Alderman

Tudor Banks- Mayor

Sugar Mountain

(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

Dennis Lacey- Mayor

Ed Hardin- Council

Gunther Jochl- Council

Nancy Crawford- Council

Grandfather Mountain

(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

John Fitzgibbon- Mayor

Ed Powe- Council

Elk Park

(Positions available: Mayor, five Aldermen)

Dreama Hicks- Mayor

Michael Smith- Alderman

Tony Eller- Alderman

Banner Elk

(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats)

John Phillips- Council

Robert Tufts- Council

Deka Tate- Mayor

Bud Hahn- Council

Ashe County

Board of Elections- 336-219-2570

West Jefferson

(Positions available: Mayor, two Aldermen)

Dale Baldwin- Mayor

Dale Hudler- Mayor

Brett T. Summey- Alderman

Bob McCoy- Alderman

Tom Hartman- Alderman

J.C. Jenkins- Alderman

Donnie Miller- Alderman

Grant Price- Alderman


(Positions available: Mayor, two Aldermen)

Dana Tugman- Mayor

Charles Caudill- Alderman

Luther F. Anderson Jr.- Alderman

Gwyn Ashley- Alderman


(Positions available: Mayor, three Aldermen)

Jason Ring- Mayor

Israel Church- Alderman

Dot Shupe- Alderman

John Michael Powers- Alderman

Wilkes County

Board of Elections- 336-651-7338

North Wilkesboro

(Positions available: three Commissioners)

Robert L. Cheek- Commissioner

Billy Joe (Crow) Church- Commissioner

Steven L. (Steve) Foster- Commissioner

Bert Hall- Commissioner

James (Jimmy) Foster- Commissioner

Leonard A. Baugham Sr.- Commissioner

Jeffrey Elmore- Commissioner

Philip Keener- Commissioner


(Positions available: Mayor, two Commissioners)

Rex Ashley- Commissioner

Deri C. Reece- Mayor


(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

Jim Beckworth- Council

Jimmy C. Hayes- Council

J. Gary Johnson- Council

Claude Andrew (Andy) Sools- Council

Sam Stroud- Council

Mike Inscore- Mayor

Caldwell County

Board of Elections- 828-757-1326


(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats, one unexpired Council term)

Janet Winkler- Council

Bill Warren- Council

Bill Beane- Mayor


(Positions available: Mayor, three Council seats)

David Barlow- Mayor

Todd Perdue- Lenoir City Council

Merlin Perry- Lenoir City Council

Timothy J. Rohr- Lenoir City Council


(Positions available: three Council seats)

Raymond Edward Bowman- Council

Joseph Wesson- Council

Geraldine Blevins- Council

Beverly Fry-Council


(Positions available: Unexpired Mayor term, two Commissioners, one unexpired Commission term)

William Allen Spencer Sr.- Town Commissioner

Joe C. Kirby- Town Commissioner

Rickey E. Justice- Mayor

Wayne Wilson Jr.- Unexpired Commissioner term

Cajah’s Mountain

(Positions available: three Council seats)

Jerry Woods- Council

Allen J. Stewart- Council


(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

Jack Roberts- Mayor

Barbara Pennell- Council

Johnny Lefever- Council

Robert (Buck) Herman- Council

Granite Falls

(Positions available: Mayor, two Council seats)

Robert DeSantis- Council

Steve Simmons- Council

Don Kirkpatrick- Council

Cedar Rock Village

(Positions available: two Council seats)

William (Bill) Johnson- Council


Clarification- Three candidates were listed under Sugar Mountain when they should have been under Banner Elk. Those candidates are:

Robert Tufts- Council

Deka Tate- Mayor

Bud Hahn- Council


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email