It was not a kind night for incumbent county commission candidates in Ashe or Avery, voters expressing themselves clearly in casting ballots. In Avery County, where 10 candidates were on the ballot, there will probably be a run-off, but just how many candidates will be involved is not yet clear, pending the canvass. Blake Vance came in first, followed by Maxine Laws, Incumbent Kenny Poteat came in third, but not above the 1255 votes needed to clear a run-off, followed by Faye Lacey. Incumbents Glenn Johnson and Phyllis Forbes are in 6th and 7th place in the unofficial returns.  The AC Pride Incubator at the old Banner Elk Elementary seems the main issue for the campaigns of the top candidates in the commission race.

It is also unclear in the very tight Board of Education race in Avery, with enough provisional votes to change the unofficial outcome—Steve Smith leading the ballot, Smith followed by Robert Clark with 2032 votes and John Glenn Hicks with 2028.  

And Sheriff Kevin Frye easily withstood the challenge of two other candidates for the nomination, including incumbent commissioner Reo Griffith.

In Ashe, Sheriff James Williams who did not face a primary opponent, will face Tim Winters on the fall ballot, Winters beating Chris Welch for the Republican nomination by over 200 votes.  

In the Ashe Commission Race, William Sands led Republican candidates, followed by Bruno Richardson and Jeff Rose—their totals well ahead of incumbents Judy Porter Poe and Gerald price who finished 6th and 7th.
Top Democrats on the Ashe commission ballot were Richard Blackburn, Cabot Hamilton, and Dan McMillan, with Lynn Graham and Larry Dix well back of the pack.