The Village Foundation of Blowing Rock has approved a $10,000 grant request from the Chamber of Commerce Leadership Class for the new public restroom facilities to be built adjacent to the Blowing Rock School playground.

High Country Press reports grant request was approved on the condition that the Leadership Class successfully raises the balance of the funds required to build the restroom facility.

The Foundation also announced two new members of its Board of Directors. Melissa Pickett, who previously served on the Foundation board, will rejoin the board. Zak Ammar, the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce, will join the Foundation Board as an ex-officio member.

The Foundation announced officers serving the foundation in 2020. Jim Pitts, President; Cathy Robbins, Vice President; Kent Tarbutton, Secretary/Treasurer; and Jim Clabough, Immediate Past President.