files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Sept-2014.jpg files/redtails.gif
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
65°F | 46°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
67°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos

Homecoming Game to Kick Off at 3:30 p.m.

Appalachian State University football’s Oct. 11 homecoming game versus Liberty will kick off at 3:30 p.m. at Kidd Brewer Stadium, Appalachian State and the Sun Belt Conference announced on Friday.

Full Story

Here are scores from the middle school volleyball games that were played Thursday night in Watauga County. GBR would like to thank Andy Eggers for providing us with these results.....

Full Story

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association presented special awards at its just completed eight regional meetings across the state. Commissioner Davis Whitfield of the NCHSAA and deputy commissioner Que Tucker, on behalf of the Association, presented both the Charlie Adams Distinguished Service Awards and the

Full Story
210 Student-Athletes Named To Academic Lists

One hundred and one Appalachian State students were named to the Sun Belt Conference commissioners list and 109 student-athletes were named to the academic honor roll for the previous school year, the league office announced on Thursday.

Full Story
Apps Fall at Georgia Southern, 34-14

Appalachian State University football’s red-zone struggles continued in Thursday night’s 34-14 loss to Georgia Southern at Paulson Stadium. Like in last Saturday’s 21-20

Full Story
Bumgarner Done In Regular Season

The San Francisco Giants announced on Thursday night that their ace, Madison Bumgarner, will not pitch in the season finale, regardless of the standings.

Full Story
'Dads to Host Craw-lloween Party

The Hickory Crawdads want to help you kick off Halloween in style with their first-ever Craw-lloween Party at L.P. Frans Stadium from 8 pm - 12 am on Thursday, October 30th.

Full Story
Pioneers To Host High Country Classic

Watauga High Cross Country coach Randy McDonough has announced that the Pioneers will be hosting the High Country Cross Country Classic at the Watauga High Cross Country Course on Saturday. The course sits below Jack Groce Stadium adjacent to the Greenway.

Full Story
Radford Blanks App State In OT

The Appalachian State University men’s soccer team dropped an overtime heartbreaker to Radford 1-0 on Wednesday evening.

Full Story
L-R Sports Round Up....

Alequine Scores Four Times In 7-1 Win: The Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Soccer Team (4-2-1, 3-0) remained unbeaten in South Atlantic Conference play after rolling to a 7-1 win over Coker (2-5, 1-2) Wednesday afternoon on the road.

Full Story
LMC Sports Roundup....

Briggs Breaks Shutout Record: Senior Kaitlyn Briggs set a school record with her 22nd career shutout and senior teammate Meagan Thornton tallied two goals and an assist while the Lees-McRae women's soccer team battered Southern Wesleyan, 5-0, in Conference Carolinas action Wednesday evening at Childs Field in Central,

Full Story
Wolverines Improve To 4-1

The Watauga Middle School football team marched its way to another win Wednesday night. The Wolverines (4-1) knocked off Granite Falls 29-22 at MSDeal Stadium.

Full Story
Dobbins Will Play Friday

The great mystery is finally over. Watauga High junior Aaron Dobbins will play Friday night against St. Stephens. It will be the first time he's stepped on a football field since the season opener at Alexander Central on August 22.

Full Story
Apps Open SBC Play Against Familiar Foe

A familiar foe awaits Appalachian State football for its first-ever Sun Belt Conference game, as the Mountaineers travel to longtime rival Georgia Southern for Thursday night’s nationally televised Sun Belt opener. Kickoff is set for Full Story

Ellis Named Sun Belt Runner of Week

Appalachian State University men’s cross country runner Michael Ellis (Winston-Salem, N.C./Mt Tabor) was named Sun Belt Conference Male Runner of the Week, as announced by the league on Wednesday.

Full Story
Wolverines Fill Open Date

Watauga Middle School Athletic Director Jim Godwin has announced that the Watauga Middle School football team has filled its open date on the schedule.

Full Story
App State-UMass to Meet

Appalachian State University added another home-and-home series to its future football schedules on Wednesday when it finalized a two-game deal with Massachusetts. Appalachian State hosts UMass at

Full Story
Make Up Date Announced....

Watauga High girls' tennis coach Robin Ebaugh has announced that last Monday's tennis match that was postponed between the Pioneers and St. Stephens will be made up next Tuesday, September 30 at the

Full Story
Middle School Volleyball Scores....

Here are the middle school volleyball scores from matches played around Watauga County Tuesday night. GBR would like to thank Andy Eggers for providing us with these results....

Full Story
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 14 of 505