Sports

THE MATCHUP

♦ North Carolina (33-6) and Villanova (34-5) will meet on Monday night in Houston for the 2016 NCAA championship. The Tar Heels and Wildcats will take the opening tip at 9:19 p.m. Eastern Time (8:19 p.m. in Houston) at NRG Stadium.

Huge Rally Leads to Walkoff Win for App Baseball....BOONE, N.C. — Drake Zupcic (Waxhaw, N.C./Cuthbertson) capped Appalachian State University baseball’s rally from a late four-run deficit with a walkoff single that lifted the Mountaineers to an 8-7 triumph over Little Rock on Saturday afternoon at Beaver Field at Jim and Bettie Smith Stadium.

THE MATCHUP

♦ East Regional champion North Carolina (32-6) will face Midwest Regional champ Syracuse (23-13) in an NCAA Tournament semifinal on Saturday night in Houston. The Tar Heels and Orange will take the opening tip at approximately 8:49 p.m. Eastern Time (7:49 p.m. in Houston) at NRG Stadium. Coverage of that game locally begins at 7:30 p.m. (ET), on WWMY 102.3 FM. Villanova and Oklahoma will meet in Saturday’s first semifinal at 6:09 p.m. ET.

HOUSTON (AP) -- North Carolina's latest step on the way to a title was shaping up as strictly an inside job.

Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Pushes Back Home Doubleheader On Saturday One Hour....Hickory, N.C. - The Lenoir-Rhyne University Softball Team's home South Atlantic Conference doubleheader with Mars Hill, scheduled for Saturday afternoon, has been pushed back one hour and will now start at 2:00 p.m