files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
47°F | 72°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
51°F | 70°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Edwards Wins Payton PDF Print
Written by Adam Hicks   
Thursday, 18 December 2008 16:15

money.jpgAppalachian’s own Armanti Edwards was named the player of the year in all of Division 1 FCS.


Edwards was presented with the Walter Payton Award Thursday evening at an awards banquet in Chattanooga, Tennessee.


This season, Edwards netted 941 rushing yards, passed for 2,902 yards, completed 64.1% of his passes, and accounted for 41 touchdowns.


Edwards played in all but one game for the Mountaineers in their 2008 campaign.


Edwards is ASU’s first Walter Payton Award winner and joins the likes of Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, and Adrian Peterson to also recieve the award.


 In a post-presentation interview, Edwards thanked his teammates and said, “This trophy has my name on it, but really it should say Appalachian State University.”


ASU head coach Jerry Moore was up for the Eddie Robinson Award for head coach of the year, but JMU head coach Mickey Matthews took those honors.


The Apps All-American defensive back Mark LeGree was one of 16 finalists for the Buck Buchanan Award for the top defensive player of 2008.  Although LeGree had 58 total tackles and a school record 10 interceptions on the season he finished third in voting.  Eastern Washington defensive end Greg Peach took top defensive honors.


Friday evening, the Montana Grizzlies take on the Richmond Spiders for the NCAA Division 1 Football Championship.


(Photo Courtesy of Phillip Greene)


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email