files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept-2014.jpg files/redtails.gif
GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/auto-banner-2014.gif

Todays ForecastToday:
65°F | 50°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
68°F | 51°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
App Women Finalizes Schedule PDF Print
Written by Kelsey Campbell   
Thursday, 31 July 2014 12:59

Appalachian State University women’s basketball and the Sun Belt conference announced their 2014-15 schedules on Thursday. Appalachian’s 28-game slate includes 14 home games and road contests at

Kentucky and North Carolina.

 

 

 

“We are excited about the challenges for the 2014-15 season,” said head coach Darcie Vincent. “The first half of the season is comprised of two NCAA tournament opponents in Kentucky and UNC. Additionally we look forward to our annual rivalries with ETSU and Gardner-Webb. The second half of the season is full of untreaded waters as we begin our inaugural year in the Sun Belt. This is a new era in App State women’s basketball and we are ready to hit the ground running.”

 

 

 

The Mountaineers will officially kick off the season when they travel to Lexington, Ky. for a matchup against Southeastern Conference opponent Kentucky on Nov. 14. The Wildcats went 26-9 last year with a 10-6 record in the SEC and advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA tournament.

 

 

 

Appalachian continues the road trip with a stop in Johnson City, Tenn. on Nov. 19 for a game against annual opponent East Tennessee State. The Mountaineers and the Bucs have faced each other every season since 1978 with the Mountaineers leading the series, 42-31. App State’s first home game of the season will be on Nov. 22 against UNCW and will be the first of three straight games at the Holmes Center.

 

 

 

The homestand will include a matchup with non-conference opponent Gardner-Webb (Nov. 26), who the Mountaineers have faced each of the past five seasons, and Radford (Nov. 30)

 

 

 

The Apps will wrap up their non-conference schedule with trips to Furman (Dec. 6) and Atlantic Coast Conference opponent North Carolina (Dec. 14), before facing North Carolina A&T in Boone (Dec. 17). The Tar Heels went 27-10 overall and 10-6 in the ACC last season while advancing to the the Elite 8 of the NCAA tournament.

 

 

 

After a short break for the holidays, Appalachian will open up Sun Belt play with a matchup against defending regular season champion Arkansas State on Jan. 3. The Red Wolves went 14-4 in the conference last season, including 8-1 in conference play at home and also competed in the WNIT tournament.

 

 

 

On Jan. 24 the Mountaineers travel to San Marcos, Texas to play Texas State. The Bobcats finished fourth in the Sun Belt last season and reached the first round of the WBI tournament.

 

 

 

The team will travel to familiar territory in Statesboro, Ga. when they face former Southern Conference foe Georgia Southern on Jan. 29, with the Eagles returning to the High Country on Feb. 26.

 

 

 

The Mountaineers wrap up the regular season with four home games, ending with a matchup against UT Arlington on Mar. 7. The 2015 Sun Belt Championships are scheduled for March 11-14 in New Orleans, La. at Lakefront Arena.

 

 

Fans can catch the Mountaineers for the first time this season on Nov. 8 when they face Lees-McRae in an exhibition game.

 

 

 

Tip-off times and broadcast information will be announced at a later date. For additional information, contact the Appalachian State Athletics Ticket Office by phone at (800) 919-2777 or by visiting the ticketing homepage at appstatesports.com/tickets.

 

 

 

2014-15 APP STATE WOMEN'S SCHEDULE

 

 

 

 

Sat, Nov 08 Lees-McRae (exhibition) BOONE, N.C. TBA

Fri, Nov 14 Kentucky at Lexington, Ky. TBA

Wed, Nov 19 ETSU at Johnson City, Tenn. TBA

Sat, Nov 22 UNCW BOONE, N.C. TBA

Tue, Nov 25 GARDNER-WEBB BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sun, Nov 30 RADFORD BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Dec 06 Furman at Greenville, S.C. TBA

Sun, Dec 14 North Carolina at Chapel Hill, N.C. TBA

Wed, Dec 17 NORTH CAROLINA A&T BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Jan 03 Arkansas State * at Jonesboro, Ark. TBA

Mon, Jan 05 UL LAFAYETTE * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Thu, Jan 08 South Alabama * at Mobile, Ala. TBA

Sat, Jan 10 UALR * at Little Rock, Ark. TBA

Thu, Jan 15 ARKANSAS STATE * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Jan 17 GEORGIA STATE * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Mon, Jan 19 Troy * at Troy, Ala. TBA

Thu, Jan 22 SOUTH ALABAMA * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Jan 24 Texas State * at San Marcos, Texas TBA

Thu, Jan 29 Georgia Southern * at Statesboro, Ga. TBA

Thu, Feb 05 UL Lafayette * at Lafayette, La. TBA

Sat, Feb 07 TROY * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Thu, Feb 12 UALR * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Feb 14 UL Monroe * at Monroe, La. TBA

Thu, Feb 19 UT Arlington * at Arlington, Texas TBA

Sat, Feb 21 Georgia State * at Atlanta, Ga. TBA

Thu, Feb 26 GEORGIA SOUTHERN * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Feb 28 UL MONROE * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Thu, Mar 05 TEXAS STATE * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sat, Mar 07 UT ARLINGTON * BOONE, N.C. TBA

Sun Belt Championships

Wed, Mar 11 -

Sat, Mar 14 TBA * New Orleans, La. TBA

 

 

* Conference Games

 

 

 

Photo Courtesy: Darcie Vincent, App State Athletics

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg