files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
69°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Ray, Botts, Baker Named Preseason All-America PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Wednesday, 16 July 2014 16:44

Lenoir-Rhyne University's Joe Ray, Tanner Botts and Blake Baker were all named to the 2014 Beyond Sports Network (BSN) NCAA Division II Preseason All-American Football Teams. Ray and Botts earned

first-team honors while Baker was selected to the second team.



Ray, a junior offensive lineman from Atlanta, Ga., won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy last year, given annually to the top offensive lineman in the South Atlantic Conference.


Ray anchored a unit which helped the Bears lead Division II in rushing last year (370.9 ypg) while the team's total rushing yards (5,563) set an all-time NCAA single-season record.


Botts, a senior linebacker from Lawrenceville, Ga., led Lenoir-Rhyne in total tackles last year with 134 to go along with 3.5 sacks, three forced fumbles and an interception. Botts, a two-time First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference honoree (2012-13), has 296 tackles so far in his career.


Baker, a senior defensive lineman from Bethlehem, N.C., set the school single-season record for sacks (14.5) last year in addition 56 tackles including 22 for a loss, a fumble recovery and a forced fumble.


All three players earned All-American honors by various publications last year and led Lenoir-Rhyne to a 13-2 record, a third straight league championship and a berth in the NCAA Division II Championship game in 2013.


The Bears also finished the year ranked No. 2 in the nation and set a school single-season record for wins in a season. Lenoir-Rhyne opens the 2014 campaign on Saturday, September 6, at home against Point. Kickoff at Moretz Stadium is set for 7:00 p.m.


2014 Beyond Sports Network

NCAA Division II Preseason

All-America Football Team

First Team Offense

QB - Kevin Rodgers, Henderson State, Senior

QB - Chris Bonner, CSU Pueblo, Senior

RB - Daiquone Ford, Findlay, Junior

RB - Tyler Tonderum, Southwest Minnesota, Senior

ATH - Jason Vander Laan, Ferris State, Junior

WR - Trevor Harman, Shippensburg, Senior

WR - Marquez Clark, Central Oklahoma, Senior

WR - Darius Davis, Henderson State, Senior

WR - Vernon Johnson, Texas A&M Commerce, Senior

TE - Andrew Dillon, Saginaw Valley, Senior

TE - Lucas Hefty, Upper Iowa, Senior

OT - Cory Tucker, Slippery Rock, Sophomore

OG - Andrew Muer, Minnesota Duluth, Senior

OC - Josh Meeker, Minnesota State, Senior

OG - Aaron Sprinkle, Ouachita Baptist, Senior

OT - Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne, Junior


First Team Defense

DE - Matt Longacre, Northwest Missouri State, Senior

DT - Taylor Carney, North Alabama, Senior

DT - Charlie Tuaau, Texas A&M Commerce, Senior

DE - Darius Allen, CSU Pueblo, Senior

LB - LeRon Furr, Fort Valley State, Senior

LB - Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne, Senior

LB - Tyler Henderson, Minnesota State, Junior

LB - Warren Shields, Ohio Dominican, Junior

CB - Isaiah Davis, Central Washington, Junior

CB - Patrick Schmidt, Minnesota State, Junior

S - John Strickland, Indianapolis, Senior

S - Tyler Thornton, Azusa Pacific, Senior


First Team Special Teams

K - Jamie McGee, Arkansas Monticello, Sophomore

K - Brent Wahle, Ohio Dominican, Junior

P - Kyle Jaski, Lincoln (Pa.), Senior

P - Scott Groner, Missouri Western, Senior

KR - C.J. Davis, Shepherd, Sophomore

PR - Earl Anderson, Simon Fraser, Junior


Second Team Offense

QB - Kyle Caldwell, West Alabama, Senior

QB - Kevin Arduino, American International, Senior

RB - Javae Swindle, West Alabama, Junior

RB - Jeff Seybold, Pittsburg State, Junior

WR - Justin Houston, Tusculum, Junior

WR - Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill, Senior

WR - Jere Brown, Merrimack, Junior

WR - Paul Browning, CSU Pueblo, Senior

FB - Romo Westbrook, Harding, Senior

TE - Khari Lee, Bowie State, Senior

TE - Steve Jones, East Stroudsburg, Senior

OT - Cole Manhart, Nebraska Kearney, Senior

OG - Jarrett Stastny, Emporia State, Sophomore

OC - Shadow Stokes, Midwestern State, Senior

OG - Michael Thompson, Harding, Senior

OT - Matthew Reese, Tuskegee, Senior


Second Team Defense

DE - Julian Howsare, Clarion, Senior

DT - Brandon Yost, Northwest Missouri State, Junior

DT - Bryan Thomson, East Stroudsburg, Senior

DE - Blake Baker, Lenoir-Rhyne, Senior

LB - Isaiah Fleming, Cheyney, Senior

LB - Grant Singer, Mary, Senior

LB - Brian Harrington, Stonehill, Senior

LB - Justin Shirk, Bloomsburg, Senior

CB - Stephan Dickens, CSU Pueblo, Senior

CB - Andre Smith, Indianapolis, Senior

S - Michael Johnson, Fayetteville State, Senior

S - Davon Marion, Concord, Senior


Second Team Special Teams

K - Jamie Cacciatore, Azusa Pacific, Junior

K - Avery Llewellyn, Colorado Mines, Junior

P - Andy Cerett, California (Pa.), Junior

P - Sam Fowler, Angelo State, Junior

KR - Derick Seward, West Georgia, Senior

PR - Elby Pope, Mary, Junior


Third Team Offense

QB - Brent Wilson, Emporia State, Junior

QB - Matt Soltes, East Stroudsburg, Junior

RB - Anthony Taylor, Ashland, Senior

RB - Chris Smith, Upper Iowa, Senior

RB - Terrell Watson, Azusa Pacific, Senior

WR - Ricky Hunt, Delta State, Senior

WR - Chad Toocheck, West Alabama, Senior

WR - Greg Livingston, McMurray, Senior

WR - Nate Robitaille, Stonehill, Senior

WR - Adam Jiskra, MSU Morehead, Junior

TE - Jamie Potts, Grand Valley State, Junior

TE - Wesley Powell, Tusculum, Senior

FB - Jonathan Hammer, Shepherd, Junior

OT - Austin Payne, CSU Pueblo, Senior

OG - Dan Naja, American International, Senior

OC - Derek Schatz, West Chester, Senior

OG - Garrison Ushery, West Georgia, Senior

OT - Mitchell Weideman, St. Cloud State, Senior

OT - Isaiah Shelton, Shepherd, Senior


Third Team Defense

DE - Jovantay Williams, Johnson C. Smith, Senior

DT - Barry Ballinger, Minnesota State, Senior

DT - Jake Lee, Augustana, Junior

DE - Kraig Akins, Western Oregon, Senior

DE/LB - Diego Lubin, Delta State, Senior

LB - Jaquawne Simpkins, American International, Senior

LB - Eric Reimer, Northwest Missouri State, Senior

LB - Tyler Zimmer, Seton Hill, Senior

LB - D'Gary Wallace, Urbana, Junior

CB - Al-Hajj Shabazz, West Chester, Senior

CB - Jamaris Brown, Walsh, Senior

CB - Mike Jordan, Missouri Western, Junior

S - Marqui Christian, Midwestern State, Junior

S - Harold Jones Quartey, Findlay, Senior

S - Austin Miele, Slippery Rock, Senior


Third Team Special Teams

K - Brett Ullman, IUP, Senior

K - Justin Linn, Washburn, Sophomore

P - James Dugan, West Georgia, Junior

P - Mike Wenk, Southwest Minnesota, Senior

KR - Justin Caliste, Gannon, Senior

KR - Terrell Roberson, California (Pa.), Senior



Photo Courtesy; Tanner Botts, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email