The Watuaga 10-and-under boys' baseball team suffered its first loss in the District 2 Tar Heel League Boys' Midget Baseball Tournament in Sparta, N.C. Hickory defeated Watauga 6-2 Tuesday night at Davis Field. Watuaga will play Wilkes National in an elimination game tonight at 5:30 p.m. at Davis Field. Watauga defeated

Wilkes National 11-1 in the opening round Monday. Hickory advances to the championship game Saturday at 1 p.m. The tournament champion will be the only team advancing to the state tournament in Sparta.



Brandon Holshouser led Watauga offensively going 2-2; Bryson Aldridge, Graham Bledsoe, and Aiden Dye were 1-3. Graham Bledsoe and Dye both scored for Watauga on back-to-back walks.


BASEBALL: The Watauga National 8U boys' coach pitch team lost to Ashe County 11-0 Thursday night in Wilkesboro and was eliminated from the District 2 Tar Heel League Coach Pitch Tournament at Lowes Park at Rivers Edge.


Watauga National advanced to Thursday's game with a pair of wins in the tournament. Watauga defeated Wilkes American-Orange 10-9 Wednesday night. Cooper Brown drove in the game-winning run in the bottom of the sixth. They defeated Wilkes American 14-3 in their second game.



SOFTBALL: At the District 2 Tar Heel League Girls' 10U Fastpitch Softball Tournament at Watauga High, Alleghany nailed down a berth in the state tournament by knocking off Wilkes American 3-2 Thursday night. Alleghany rallied with two runs in the bottom of the sixth to win the game.


The state tournament will be played in Shelby, July 17-20. Despite the loss, Wilkes American will join Alleghany at the state tournament. Kendall Lyall got the win for Alleghany Thursday night.


Alleghany and Wilkes Anmerican will meet Saturday morning at 10 a.m., at the WHS Softball Complex for the District Championship. The district champion will have to win twice on Saturday.


BASEBALL JUNIORS: The Watauga 14U boys' baseball team was eliminated Thursday night in the Tar Heel League Junior League Tournament. Watauga lost to Wilkes County 14-2 at the Optimist Field in Boone. Wilkes County wins the district championship and advances to the state tournament.


GBR would like to thank Stephen Poulos, Bill Dicus, Jay Jackson, Ben Hale and Tanya Aldridge for providing us with these results.