files/MDT&SB-GBR490x110-Aug-2014.jpg files/redtails.gif
GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/auto-banner-2014.gif

Todays ForecastToday:
56°F | 66°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 72°F | 60%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Listen Live Listen Live Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
App State Finalizes 2014 Schedule PDF Print
Written by Ben Winterrowd   
Monday, 07 July 2014 11:17

Appalachian State University men’s soccer head coach Matt Nelson announced the team’s schedule for the upcoming 2014 season on Monday.

 

 

“This schedule for the upcoming fall season is a challenging one,” said Nelson. “It’s a schedule that will prepare us for the conference season as we move into the Sun Belt and ready us for a run at a conference championship.”

 

The Mountaineers will play three exhibition games in preparation for the regular season. App State will challenge UNC Asheville on the road on Friday, August 15 at 1 p.m. The Apps will return home for a match against Campbell on Sunday, August 17 with a 7 p.m. kickoff before closing out the preseason at High Point on Saturday, August 23 at 7 p.m.

 

To kick off the regular season, the Mountaineers will begin with two games at the JMU Invitational at James Madison in Harrisonburg, Virginia. The Apps will face Albany to open the season on Friday, August 29 with a time to be determined and then take on Vermont on Sunday, August 31 also with a time to be determined.

 

The Apps will continue the road trip on Friday, September 5 at Navy with a 7 p.m. kick off. The team will then play on Sunday, September 7 when the Apps visit the University of Maryland Baltimore County for a 7 p.m. start.

 

App State will then host Presbyterian on Friday, September 12 at 7:30 p.m. for the home opener at Appalachian Soccer Stadium. On Monday, September 15 the Mountaineers will travel to Marshall for a 5 p.m. match.

 

The following week on Wednesday, September 24 the Black and Gold will return home to face Radford at 7 p.m. before hitting the road again for three-straight matches. The Mountaineers travel to USC Upstate on Saturday, September 27, Duke on Tuesday, September 30 and Hartwick in Oneonta, N.Y. on Friday, October 3. The Hartwick game will also be App State's Sun Belt Conference opener. All three games are slated for 7 p.m. kick offs.

 

Appalachian will then finish the season with four home dates in a six game stretch starting on Wednesday, October 8 when they host Jacksonville University at 7 p.m. The Apps will hit the road to Howard in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, October 11.

 

Two familiar opponents will then visit the High Country when Georgia State comes on Saturday, October 18 with a 7 p.m. start time and long-time Southern Conference foe Georgia Southern makes the trek to Boone on Saturday, October 25 for a 7 p.m. kick off.

 

The Mountaineers will then travel to Longwood for a mid-week game on Wednesday, October 29 at 6 p.m. before closing the regular season at home with a 7 p.m. match against the New Jersey Institute of Technology on Saturday, November 8.

 

The Sun Belt Conference men’s soccer tournament is slated for Thursday, November 13 through Sunday, November 16 in Statesboro, Georgia.

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg