files/MDT&SB-GBR490x110-Aug-2014.jpg files/redtails.gif
GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/auto-banner-2014.gif

Todays ForecastToday:
63°F | 81°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 79°F | 40%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Listen Live Listen Live Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Men’s Golf Releases 2014-15 Schedule PDF Print
Written by James Ashley   
Wednesday, 21 May 2014 06:38

Appalachian State University men’s golf coach Bill Dicus announced the team’s schedule for the upcoming 2014-15 season on Monday.

 

 

 

The Mountaineers will take on 11 tournaments before competing in its first Sun Belt Championships from April 19-21. They will compete in four tournaments in the fall and a junior-varsity, five tournaments and a head-to-head in the spring.

 

Appalachian starts its season on Sept. 29, traveling to Aurora, Ohio to compete in the Cleveland State Invitational at the Barrington Country Club. Two weeks later, they will travel to the Mimosa Hills Country Club in Morganton, N.C. to play in the Donald Ross Intercollegiate, a tournament in which they took fourth last season.

 

On Oct. 18, the men’s golf team will play at the University of South Carolina Invitational in Camden, S.C. at the Camden Country Club. To close out the fall season, the Mountaineers will face unchartered territory at the Wendy’s Kiawah Classic at Turtle Point Golf Club in Kiawah Island, S.C. This is a course the Mountaineers hasn’t played on.

 

The junior-varsity Pfeiffer Invitational will be the kick-off of the spring season on Feb. 23. Dicus will send a number of golfers there to compete individually and gain some experience before the meat of the season begins.

 

On March 8-10, Appalachian will host its annual Bash at the Beach tournament. The tournament will take place at the Surf Golf Club in N. Myrtle Beach, S.C. The next tournament will be on March 14 at the Cape Fear National Golf Club in Leland, N.C. Appalachian will go more north to a familiar course playing in the Kingsmill Intercollegiate Tournament at the Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Va.

 

The Mountaineers will team up with the Appalachian women’s golf team to play in the University Cup on March 26. They took the crown last season upending Gardner-Webb 4.5-to-3.5. The last two tournaments will be from April 11-14 where they will play in the Irish Creek Intercollegiate on the first two days then travel to the Country Club of Spartanburg in Spartanburg, S.C. for the next two days to end the regular season.

 

 

App State 2014-15 Schedule

 

Mon, Sep 29 -

Tue, Sep 30 Cleveland State Invitational at Barrington Country Club/Aurora, Ohio All Day

 

Mon, Oct 13 -

Tue, Oct 14 Donald Ross Intercollegiate at Mimosa Hills Country Club/Morganton, N.C. All Day

 

Sat, Oct 18 -

Sun, Oct 19 University of South Carolina Invitational at Camden Country Club/Camden, S.C. All Day

 

Sat, Nov 01 -

Mon, Nov 03 Wendy's Kiawah Classic at Turtle Point Golf Club/Kiawah Island, S.C. All Day

 

Mon, Feb 23 -

Tue, Feb 24 Pfeiffer Invitational (JV) at Irish Creek Golf Course/Kannapolis, N.C. All Day

 

Sun, Mar 08 -

Tue, Mar 10 Bash at the Beach Surf Golf Club/N Myrtle Beach, S.C. All Day

 

Sat, Mar 14 -

Mon, Mar 16 Cape Fear Intercollegiate at Cape Fear National/Leland, N.C. All Day

 

Sun, Mar 22 -

Tue, Mar 24 Kingsmill Intercollegiate at Kingsmill Resort/Williamsburg, Va. TBA

 

Thu, Mar 26 University Cup Mimosa Hills Country Club/Morganton, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

 

Sat, Apr 11 -

Sun, Apr 12 Irish Creek Intercollegiate at Irish Creek Golf Course/Kannapolis, N.C. All Day

 

Mon, Apr 13 -

Tue, Apr 14 Wofford Intercollegiate at Country Club of Spartanburg/Spartanburg, S.C. All Day

 

Sun, Apr 19 -

Tue, Apr 21 Sun Belt Championships * at Golden Bear Country Club/Saucier, Miss. All Day

 

* Conference Games

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg