Regular-season champion Western Carolina has earned the top seed in the upcoming Southern Conference Baseball Championship, which will take place May 20-25 at Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park in

Charleston, S.C.



All 10 Southern Conference teams will participate in the tournament, with seeds 7-10 participating in single-elimination games on Tuesday, May 20, for the right to advance to the double-elimination portion of the bracket, which feeds into a single-elimination championship game at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 25.


The tournament winner earns the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship.


The tournament will begin Tuesday at noon, with eighth-seeded Furman (23-21, 11-15 SoCon) and ninth-seeded UNCG (21-27, 8-16) squaring off. That contest will be followed by No. 7 seed Elon (27-25, 12-15) taking on tournament host and No. 10 seed The Citadel (23-32, 8-18) at 3:30 p.m. The Bulldogs swept UNCG to end the regular season, while Furman dropped two of three to Appalachian State. Elon has been idle since knocking off No. 21 Liberty on Tuesday.


Wednesday begins the double-elimination portion of the bracket, with No. 4 seed Georgia Southern (34-20, 15-12 SoCon) taking on No. 5 seed Appalachian State (20-32, 12-14 SoCon) at 10 a.m. The Eagles have been idle since a 10-9 win over Jacksonville on Tuesday, while the Mountaineers took two of three from Furman, capped by a walk-off, 6-5 win on Saturday, to claim the fifth seed.


In a battle of the top two teams in the league standings, Western Carolina (37-16, 20-6 SoCon) swept Davidson on Thursday and Friday to claim its second straight regular-season title and secure the No. 1 seed. The Catamounts will take on the Furman/UNCG winner at 1 p.m. Wednesday.


Davidson (28-17, 17-8 SoCon) finished second in the regular-season standings, its highest finish since 1987, to lay claim to the No. 2 seed. The Wildcats, who have matched their single-season school-record win total, will take on the Elon/Citadel winner at 5 p.m. Wednesday.


Third-seeded Samford (32-24, 15-12) and No. 6 seed Wofford (30-26, 12-14) will close out Wednesday’s action with an 8 p.m. contest. Those squads finished the regular season against each other, with the Terriers sweeping Saturday’s doubleheader to win the series, two games to one.


Samford finished tied with Georgia Southern in the standings but claimed the third seed on the basis of its series win over the Eagles, while Wofford finished tied with Appalachian State for fifth but saw the Mountaineers take the No. 5 seed on the strength of their head-to-head series win.


A free video stream of each tournament game will be available at, and Sunday’s championship game will be broadcast live on ESPN3.



May 20 (Tuesday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)


Game 1: #8 Furman vs. #9 UNCG 12 p.m.


Game 2: #7 Elon vs. #10 The Citadel 3:30 p.m.




May 21 (Wednesday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)

Game 3: #4 Georgia Southern vs. #5 Appalachian State 10 a.m.


Game 4: Winner Game 1 vs. #1 Western Carolina 1 p.m.


Game 5: Winner of Game 2 vs. #2 Davidson 5 p.m.


Game 6: #3 Samford vs. #6 Wofford 8 p.m.




May 22 (Thursday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)


Game 7: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 10 a.m.


Game 8: Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6 1 p.m.


Game 9: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 5/8 p.m.


Game 10: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 5/8 p.m.




May 23 (Friday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)


Game 11: Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 9 3 p.m.


Game 12: Winner Game 8 vs. Loser Game 10 6:30 p.m.




May 24 (Saturday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)


Game 13: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 11 10 a.m.


Game 14: Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 12 1 p.m.


Game 15: Winner Game 13 vs. Loser Game 13^ 5 p.m.


Game 16: Winner Game 14 vs. Loser Game 14^ 8 p.m.




May 25 (Sunday)

SoCon Championship

(Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park; Charleston, S.C.)


Championship game (ESPN3) 2 p.m.




All times Eastern

^ If necessary. If the winners of games 13 and 14 have a loss, a second matchup will be necessary. If game 15 is not necessary but game 16 is, game 16 will start at 5 p.m.