files/MDSB-GBR-490x110-Nov-2014.jpg files/bp-santa_320x110.jpg
GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/bcbs_2014.gif

Todays ForecastToday:
33°F | 39°F | 100%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
28°F | 37°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
App State Soccer Releases Fall Schedule PDF Print
Written by Ben Winterrowd   
Friday, 16 May 2014 12:24

Appalachian State University women’s soccer head coach Sarah Strickland announced the team’s schedule for the upcoming 2014 season on Friday.

 

 

“We are excited about entering new territory this fall,” said Strickland. “In order to prepare to be successful in our new conference we have decided to play as many quality opponents from a variety of competitive conferences in order to challenge our program to put ourselves in the best possible position to compete for a championship in the Sun Belt.”

 

The Mountaineers will play two exhibition games in preparation for the regular season. App State will challenge N.C. State in Raleigh on Wednesday, Aug. 13 and play host to High Point in Boone on Saturday, Aug. 16 at 4 p.m.

 

Kicking off the regular season, the Mountaineers will start with nine non-conference games. The Apps will begin the year on the road at Elon to face a familiar foe from the Southern Conference on Sunday, Aug. 24 and then travel to near by ETSU on Thursday, Aug. 28.

 

Appalachian State’s first home date will fall on Sunday, Aug. 31 when it hosts Liberty with a kick off set for 1 p.m. From there, the Mountaineers will travel for two more road games on Friday, Sept. 5 at Morehead State and Sunday, Sept. 7 at Marshall.

 

The Apps will return home for a weekend with matches on Friday, Sept. 12 at 4 p.m. and Sunday, Sept. 14 at 1 p.m. against Belmont and George Mason, respectively. The Mountaineers will round out non-conference play with road dates at James Madison on Friday, Sept. 19 and Radford on Sunday, Sept. 21.

 

The Apps will kick off their inaugural Sun Belt Conference schedule in the state of Arkansas on Friday, Sept. 26 at Arkansas Little-Rock and Sunday, Sept. 28 at Arkansas State. The following weekend App State will travel to Texas State on Sunday, Oct. 5.

 

The longest home stand for Appalachian will include four-straight home dates with Troy (Oct. 10), South Alabama (Oct. 12), UL-Lafeyette (Oct. 17) and UL-Monroe (Oct. 19).

 

The squad will close out the regular season in the Peach State with matches against Georgia State on Friday, Oct. 24 with a 7 p.m. match and end the season with longtime conference rival Georgia Southern on Sunday, Oct. 26 that’s slated for a 1 p.m. kick off.

 

The 2014 Sun Belt Conference tournament is slated to take place from Wednesday, Nov. 5-Sunday, Nov. 10 in Mobile, Alabama.

 

EXHIBITION GAMES

 

Wed, Aug 13 N.C. State at Raleigh, N.C. 7:00 p.m.

 

Sat, Aug 16 High Point BOONE, N.C. 4:00 p.m.

 

 

 

2014 APP STATE SOCCER SCHEDULE

Regular Season

 

Sun, Aug 24 Elon at Elon, N.C., 2:00 p.m.

Thu, Aug 28 ETSU at Johnson City, Tenn., 7:00 p.m.

Sun, Aug 31 Liberty BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Sep 5 Morehead State at Morehead, Ky., 6:00 p.m.

Sun, Sep 7 Marshall at Huntington, W.Va., 12:00 p.m.

Fri, Sep 12 Belmont BOONE, N.C., 4:00 p.m.

Sun, Sep 14 George Mason BOONE, N.C., 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Sep 19 James Madison at Harrisonburg, Va., 5:00 p.m.

Sun, Sep 21 Radford at Radford, Va., 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Sep 26 Arkansas Little-Rock * at Little Rock, Ark.,7:00 p.m.

Sun, Sep 28 Arkansas State * at Jonesboro, Ark., 1:00 p.m.

Sun, Oct 5 Texas State * at San Marcos, Texas, 12:00 p.m.

Fri, Oct 10 Troy * BOONE, N.C. 7:00 p.m.

Sun, Oct 12 South Alabama * BOONE, N.C., 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Oct 17 Louisiana-Lafayette * BOONE, N.C., 7:00 p.m.

Sun, Oct 19 Louisiana-Monroe * BOONE, N.C., 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Oct 24 Georgia State * at Atlanta, Ga., 7:00 p.m.

Sun, Oct 26 Georgia Southern * at Statesboro, Ga., 1:00 p.m.

 

Sun Belt Tournament

Wed, Nov 05 -

Tue, Nov 11 Sun Belt Conference Championships at Mobile, Ala. TBA

 

 

* Conference Games

 

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg