Appalachian State University wrestling has been honored by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) as a Division I All-Academic Team for the 2013-14 wrestling season. In addition, NCAA qualifiers

Dylan Cottrell (Spencer, W.Va/Roane County) and Dominic Parisi (Concord, N.C./Jay M. Robinson)was selected to the NWCA’s Individual All-Academic team, as announced by the association on Wednesday.



After making the team in 26th place last year, Appalachian State’s GPA ranked fourth in the nation (3.31), its highest finish in the program’s history. In John Mark Bentley’s five seasons as head coach, the Mountaineers finished as one of the top 30 teams honored by the NWCA.


“I’m really proud of our team and our staff for the commitment that they are making toward academics,” Bentley said. “Our top priority is putting out quality and character individuals to represent our program.”


The NWCA also released its Individual All-Academic team, in which Cottrell and Parisi joined 87 others recognized as the country’s elite grapplers based on academic and athletic performance. Parisi became the only repeat award winner for Appalachian and one of only four Mountaineers honored , joining Savva Kostis who was honored in 2011-12 and Dylan Temple who was honored in 2009-10.


For ranking purposes, the team GPA is comprised of 12 student-athletes, including the 10 wrestlers that were entries in the NCAA tournament conference qualifier. If teams had less than 10 entries for their respective qualifier, they were allowed to fill those spots with wrestlers that competed in at least one varsity dual during the season.


To qualify for the Individual All-Academic team, a wrestler must have at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA and be an NCAA qualifier or win 60 percent of his total schedule. Wrestlers also qualify with a 3.0 GPA and NCAA all-America honors (top eight at the NCAA championship).


Garner-Webb and The Citadel also represented the Southern Conference in the team GPA rankings, while Parisi and Cottrell were two of eight SoCon members honored. The Citadel led the SoCon with five members honored.


Harvard repeated as the top academic wrestling program for the second-straight year.



Photo Courtesy: Dominic Parisi, App State Athletics