files/MDSB-GBR490x110-March2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

°F | °F | %
°F | °F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
L-R To Host NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 29 April 2014 16:51

Lenoir-Rhyne University will serve as the host school of the 2014 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships. The national finals will take place on May 14-17 at Rock Barn Golf & Spa.




A total of 72 golfers will compete in the national championship. The top three teams and the top three individuals not with a team from each of the four Super Regional Tournaments will advance to the finals.


All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day's total score.


The NCAA Division II Women's Golf Super Region Tournaments will take place at the following locations: Central (Tartan Park Golf Club in Lake Elmo, Minn.), South (Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club in Dade City, Fla.), East (Purgatory Golf Club in Noblesville, Ind.) and West (Walnut Creek Country Club in Mansfield, Texas).


The Central, South and East Super Region Tournaments take place on May 4-6 while the West is scheduled for May 5-7.


Lynn (Fla.) won the 2013 NCAA Division II Women's Golf National Championship at the LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla. Currently, the top five teams in the nation are Lynn, Barry (Fla.), Florida Tech, Rollins (Fla.) and Tarleton State (Texas).


A special championships banquet will take place on Tuesday, May 13, in the Blue Ridge Ballroom at Rock Barn Golf & Spa, a day before the tournament begins. Lenoir-Rhyne University's President, Dr. Wayne Powell, will provide a welcome speech.


In addition, the keynote speaker that evening will be Dana Rader, founder of the Dana Rader Golf School at the Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge in Charlotte, and national president of the Ladies Professional Golf Association's (LPGA) Teaching & Club Professionals membership.


Rock Barn Golf & Spa hosted the NCAA Division II Men's Golf South and Southeast Super Regional in 2012 and will host the NCAA Division II Men's Golf National Championship in 2015

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

GoBlueRidge Poll

Which song do you want to hear on The Highway?