Lenoir-Rhyne's Brantley Rumford and Ivan Vieitez have been named to the 2014 All-South Atlantic Conference Baseball First Team, league officials announced today. Rumford, a junior second baseman from Rock Hill, S.C., finished second on the team in batting average (.376) to go along with a home run, 14 runs batted in and a .503 slugging percentage.


Rumford also hit safely in 24 of his last 25 games and batted .400 against conference opponents this year.


Vieitez, a junior outfielder from Miami, Fla., led the league in batting average (.470) and on-base percentage (.539) en route to a second straight selection to the All-South Atlantic Conference First Team.


Vieitez, a three-time league player of the week this spring, led the team in numerous offensive categories including runs scored (39), hits (65), doubles (15), home runs (four), runs batted in (38), total bases (100) and slugging percentage (.694).


On the mound, Vieitez finished with a team-best 2.95 earned run average to go along with a 5-5 record, three complete games, two shutouts and 46 strikeouts.


Both Rumford and Vieitez led Lenoir-Rhyne (20-28) to nine consecutive victories to end the year, its longest winning streak in five seasons.


2014 South Atlantic Conference

Baseball Awards

All-SAC First Team

C - Jonathan Zalud, Anderson

1B - Steven Cooper, Anderson

2B - Brantley Rumford, Lenoir-Rhyne

SS - Craig Brooks, Catawba

3B - Ryan Cranmer, Newberry

OF - Ivan Vieitez, Lenoir-Rhyne

OF - Josh Coker, Lincoln Memorial

OF - Nate Galliford, Anderson

DH - T.J. Wharton, Catawba

SP - Craig Brooks, Tusculum

SP - Olen Little, Wingate

SP - Shaefer Shepard, Catawba

RP - Ryan McClintock, Catawba


All-SAC Second Team

C - Josh Clark, Wingate

1B - Kelvin Brito, Lincoln Memorial

2B - Vinny Ferrara, Tusculum

2B - Jean Rodriguez, Lincoln Memorial

SS - Evan Rogers, Mars Hill

3B - T.J. Giczkowski, Coker

OF - Bo Ausmus, Carson-Newman

OF - Eric Serra, Wingate

OF - Keaton Hawks, Catawba

DH - Taylor Foster, Tusculum

SP - Ben Currie, Wingate

SP - Wesley Camp, Newberry

SP - Jake Nidiffer, Newberry

RP - Josh Coker, Lincoln Memorial


All-SAC Honorable Mention

C - Kyle Floyd, Lincoln Memorial

1B - Paul Kronenfeld, Catawba

SS - Michael Godinez, Wingate

3B - John Topoleski, Tusculum

OF - Blake Houston, Catawba

OF - Ernie Kirkwood, Coker

OF - Alex Kirby, Newberry

DH - Eric Barbieri, Newberry

SP - Cole Cromer, Newberry

SP - Landon Beck, Anderson

SP - Caleb Edwards, Mars Hill

RP - Daniel Nations, Newberry


SAC Gold Glove Team

C - Jonathan Zalud, Anderson

1B - Dalton Eisenbath, Mars Hill

2B - Julio Zubillaga, Catawba

SS - Brett Cash, Anderson

3B - John Topoleski, Tusculum

OF - Tommy Scala, Mars Hill

OF - Alex Kirby, Newberry

OF - Bo Ausmus, Carson-Newman

P - Wesley Camp, Newberry


SAC Player of the Year: Josh Coker, Lincoln Memorial

SAC Pitcher of the Year: Craig Brooks, Catawba

SAC Freshman of the Year: Shaefer Shepard, Catawba

SAC Co-Coaches of the Year: Jim Gantt, Catawba and Jeff Gregory, Wingate


Photo Courtesy: Brantley Rumford, L-R Athletics