Five members of the Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Team have earned 2014 All-South Atlantic Conference honors, league officials announced today. Of the five, three players were selected to the all-conference first team: sophomore Maryann Hoskins, senior shortstop Jody Mizelle (Colerain, N.C.) and senior third baseman Haily Jarman (Wadesboro, N.C.).


Hoskins has a 19-7 record with a 1.18 earned run average, 199 strikeouts and 10 shutouts and was named the 2014 South Atlantic Conference Pitcher Of The Year.


Mizelle leads the team in batting average (.380), runs scored (46), home runs (11), runs batted in (40), total bases (116) and slugging percentage (.678). Both Mizelle and Hoskins have been named to the all-league first team for the second time in their respective careers.


Jarman, a four-team All-SAC pick (2010-13), is second on squad in hitting (.366) to go along with a team-high 14 doubles, five home runs and 37 runs batted in.


Both Lenoir-Rhyne freshman catcher Sarah Kenley (Charlotte, N.C.) and freshman first baseman Sydney Landreth (Disputanta, Va.) were named to the All-South Atlantic Conference Second Team for the Bears as well.


Kenley has a .333 batting average with 14 doubles, four home runs and 22 runs batted in while Landreth is third on the squad in hitting (.338) to go along with five home runs and 26 RBI.


Lenoir-Rhyne freshman outfielder Dakota Keller (Mooresboro, N.C.) and sophomore designated player Ashley Oliver (Newton, N.C.) earned honorable mention All-SAC honors in 2014.


Keller has three home runs and 15 runs batted in while Oliver has a .298 batting average and is second on the squad in home runs (six) to go along with 28 runs batted in.


Lenoir-Rhyne (38-11), ranked No. 12 in NCAA Division II, will take on Catawba in the quarterfinal round of the 2014 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Softball Tournament on Thursday in Harrogate, Tenn., at 5:30 p.m. The Bears are seeded first while the Indians are the eighth seed.


2014 South Atlantic Conference

Softball Awards

All-SAC First Team

C - Taylor Laskey, Wingate

1B - Danielle Swygert, Anderson

2B - Jamie Hockaday, Mars Hill

SS - Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne

3B - Haily Jarman, Lenoir-Rhyne

OF - Kelli Hensley, Carson-Newman

OF - Molly Child, Anderson

OF - Brianna Mulkey, Lincoln Memorial

DP - Kayla Saliga, Wingate

UTIL - Alyssa Miller, Brevard

P - Maryann Hoskins, Lenoir-Rhyne

P - Stacey Houser, Wingate


All-SAC Second Team

C - Sarah Kenley, Lenoir-Rhyne

1B - Sydney Landreth, Lenoir-Rhyne

2B - Mellena Helms, Wingate

SS - Abby Child, Anderson

3B - Robyn Stanek, Mars Hill

OF - Taylor Rosenbalm, Queens

OF - Sydney Weatherford, Coker

OF - Kristen Stinnard, Catawba

OF - Courtney Czentnar, Anderson

OF - Carolyn Williamson, Tusculum

DP - Kaitlyn Bodine, Queens

UTIL - Amanda Snow, Lincoln Memorial

P - Carley Tysinger, Catawba

P - Katelynn Howser, Anderson

All-SAC Honorable Mention

C - Emily Boykin, Brevard

1B - Caitlyn Lance, Carson-Newman

2B - Jessica Neidigh, Anderson

SS - Alexis Burrell, Wingate

3B - Sara Kelley, Carson-Newman

OF - Dakota Keller, Lenoir-Rhyne

DP - Ashley Oliver, Lenoir-Rhyne

UTIL - Katherine Shumaker, Catawba

P - Kelly King, Tusculum

P - Jamie Hrobak, Brevard


SAC Player of the Year: Kelli Hensley, Carson-Newman

SAC Pitcher of the Year: Maryann Hoskins, Lenoir-Rhyne

SAC Freshman of the Year: Courtney Czentnar, Anderson

SAC Coach of the Year: Tommy Hewitt, Anderson



Photo Courtesy: Maryann Hoskins, L-R Athletics