In a vote of 25 sports writers across the state who cover prep athletics, senior guard Madi Story of Bandys and junior guard-forward Danasia Witherspoon of Hickory were named to the 12-player North

Carolina Associated Press All-State Team.




Story received 18 votes and Witherspoon received eight votes. Story, who will attend Appalachian State University, is on the all-state team for the third consecutive year. She led Bandys (31-1) to 31 straight wins and to its seventh state title game appearance. Bandys lost to High Point-Andrews, 57-51 Andrews, by averaging


Story averaged 16.8 points, 4.7 rebounds, 6.3 assists and 6.4 steals per game. She was a 61 percent shooter and she became the all-time leading female scorer at Bandys this season (2,156). The Trojans went 113-11 during her four-year stay. They also reached the Class 2A West Regionals the last four years.


Witherspoon sparked Hickory’s girls to 29 straight wins and into the state 3A title game against undefeated Chapel Hill, where the Red Tornadoes were beaten 69-56. She averaged 18 points, six rebounds, three assists and four steals per game and shot 51 percent from the floor.





x-Jamie Cherry, West Craven, PG, Sr. (25)

Paris Kea, Greensboro Page, G, Sr. (22)

Rydeiah Rogers, Charlotte Myers Park, F, Jr. (22)

Azura Stevens, Cary, C, Sr. (21)

Jatarie White, Charlotte Providence Day, F/C, Sr. (20)

Madi Story, Catawba Bandys, G, Sr. (18)

Rachel Camp, East Rutherford, G, Sr. (13)

Akela Branch, Albemarle, F, Sr. (10)

Brittany Drumgoole, Kinston, PG, Sr. (10)

Jazmine Jones, West Forsyth, F, Sr. (10)

Lexi Mercer, Goldsboro Rosewood, G/F, So. (9)

Danasia Witherspoon, Hickory, G/F, Jr. (8)

x-Denotes unanimous pick.



x-Gabe DeVoe, Shelby, G, Sr. (25)

Gary Clark, Clayton, F, Sr. (24)

Brandon Ingram, Kinston, F, Jr. (24)

Kedrick Flomo, North Forsyth, PG, Sr. (22)

Edrice Adebayo, Pinetown Northside, C, So. (21)

Theo Pinson, High Point Wesleyan Christian, G, Sr. (21)

Lamont Robinson, Eastern Alamance, PG, Sr. (16)

Kishawn Pritchett, Lake Norman, G/F, Jr. (15)

Dennis Smith Jr., Fayetteville Trinity Christian, G, So. (15)

Keyshawn Woods, Charlotte Northside Christian, G, Sr. (15)

Raekwon Miller, McDowell County, PG, Sr. (13)

Aaron Carver, Elizabeth City Northeastern, F, Sr. (11)

x-Denotes unanimous pick.