Lenoir-Rhyne University's Jazmine Charles has been named the 2013-14 Daktronics NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Southeast Region Player Of The Year.




Charles, a junior guard from Lexington, N.C., currently leads the Bears in scoring (17.3 ppg), rebounding (6.5 rpg) and three-pointers made (52) this season.


Charles was also named the 2013-14 South Atlantic Conference Women's Basketball Player Of The Year earlier this month and has guided Lenoir-Rhyne to a 24-6 record so far this year and a No. 24 national ranking.


Charles has earned first-team all-league honors for the past two seasons and became the 18th player to score 1,000 points in school history earlier this year.


Lenoir-Rhyne also won the 2013-14 South Atlantic Conference Regular Season Championship and earned the top spot in the Southeast Regional Poll.


L-R is the host of this year's NCAA Division II Southeast Region Tournament and will face Armstrong Atlantic State (19-7) in the quarterfinal round at Shuford Memorial Gymnasium on Friday beginning at 6:00 p.m.


Sports information directors from NCAA Division II Southeast Region schools and conferences selected the Daktronics All-Region team. The process concludes with All-American selections announced later in the month.


The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).


2013-14 Daktronics NCAA Division II

Women's Basketball All-Southeast Region Team



Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne, G, Jr., Lexington, N.C.

Kayla Harris, Wingate, F, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.

Mimi Hill, North Georgia, F, Sr., Gainesville, Ga.

Haylee Lepaio, Newberry, C, Jr., Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia

Nyeshea Willie, Barton, G, Sr., Virginia Beach, Va.



Taylor Beverly, Montevallo, F, Jr., Brandon, Miss.

Shacamra Jackson, Clayton State, F/C, Sr., Marietta, Ga.

McKenzie Owen, Belmont Abbey, F, Jr., Burlington, N.C.

Williesha "Shorty" Spencer, Flagler, G, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.

Janitsha Williams, Wingate, G, Sr., Statesville, N.C.


Player of the Year: Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne