Redshirt-freshman Dylan Cottrell (Spencer, W.Va./Roane County) led the pack for the Appalachian State wrestling team, securing the freshman of the year accolade, making the all-Southern Conference wrestling team and the all-freshman wrestling team for the 2013-14 wrestling season, the Southern Conference announced Wednesday.


Cottrell is just the second wrestler in Appalachian history to win freshman of the year in the SoCon. All-American Austin Trotman earned the award in 2008.


Cottrell finished the 2013-14 season with a 23-1 record with four pins and a 12-0 dual record which included a perfect 5-0 in the SoCon. He is currently on a 12-match win streak and ranked No. 10 at the 149-pound weight class according to the final NCAA RPI standings of the year. He leads the team with the most decisions and dual meet points of the season. Cottrell also won SoCon wrestler of the week twice this season.


Last year’s NCAA qualifier, sophomore Dominic Parisi (Concord, N.C./Jay M. Robinson), joined Cottrell on the 2013-14 all-conference team at the 125-pound weight class. Parisi finished the SoCon schedule with a perfect 5-0 record and a 15-6 overall record on the season. He leads the team with six pins.


Redshirt-freshman Vito Pasone (Wilkes, Barre, Pa./ E.L. Meyers) also secured a spot on the 2013-14 all-freshman team rounding out the awards for the Mountaineers. Pasone went 12-12 on the season and 4-0 in the SoCon.


The Mountaineers will be back in action on Saturday at the SoCon Wrestling Championship, hosted by Campbell in Buies Creek, N.C. Doors to the John W. Pope Jr. Convocation Center open at 9 a.m. First-round matches are set to begin at 10 a.m., with finals slated to start at 7 p.m.


2013-14 Wrestler of the Year

Turtogtokh Luvsandorj, R-Sr., 165, The Citadel


2013-14 Freshman of the Year

Dylan Cottrell, 149, Appalachian State


2013-14 All-Southern Conference Team

125 – Dominic Parisi, Jr., Appalachian State

133 – Nick Soto, Jr., Chattanooga

141 – Ugi Khishignyam, R-So., The Citadel

149 – Dylan Cottrell, R-Fr., Appalachian State

157 – Aaron Walker, R-Fr., The Citadel

165 – Turtogtokh Luvsandorj, R-Sr., The Citadel

174 – Levi Clemons, R-Jr., Chattanooga

184 – John Lampe, R-So., Chattanooga

197 – Scottie Boykin, Fr., Chattanooga

HWT – Dawson Peck, Fr., Chattanooga


2013-14 All-Freshman Team

Dylan Cottrell, Appalachian State

Vito Pasone, Appalachian State

Ville Heino, Campbell

Drew Walker, Campbell

Tyler Walker, Campbell

Aaron Walker, The Citadel

Austin Trott, Gardner-Webb

Scottie Boykin, Chattanooga

Dawson Peck, Chattanooga

Mike Pongracz, Chattanooga



Photo Courtesy: Dylan Cottrell, ASU Athletics