Lenoir-Rhyne junior guard Jazmine Charles (Lexington, N.C.) has been named the 2013-14 South Atlantic Conference Women's Basketball Player Of The Year while Todd Starkey was voted on as the league's coach of the year.


Charles leads the Bears in scoring (17.5 ppg), rebounding (6.6 rpg) and three-pointers made (48) this season and is joined on the all-league first team by teammate Jenni Gust. Charles crossed the 1,000-point mark this season and garnered all-conference honors for the second straight year.


Gust, a junior guard from Colfax, Wis., is second on the squad in scoring (12.4 ppg) and rebounding (4.7 rpg) in 2013-14.


In addition, senior guard Danielle Bongiorno (Wilmington, N.C.) picked up honorable mention all-conference accolades for the Bears. Bongiorno leads the team in assists (105) and is averaging 5.1 points and 3.4 rebounds per contest while starting in all 27 contests so far this season.


Starkey, in his ninth season with the Bears, has been named league coach of the year four times. Starkey, who has a 163-93 mark with Lenoir-Rhyne, has guided L-R to three SAC Regular Season Championships, three berths in the NCAA Division II Playoffs and one conference tournament title.


L-R (22-5, 17-5) is ranked No. 24 in NCAA Division II and first in the Southeast Region. Lenoir-Rhyne tied for the league crown with Wingate this season.


Lenoir-Rhyne, the top seed in the 2014 Food Lion SAC Women's Basketball Tournament, will face eighth-seeded Coker (12-14) on Wednesday in the opening round at home beginning at 6:00 p.m.


2013-14 All-South Atlantic Conference

Women's Basketball Teams


Kayla Harris, Wingate

Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne

Haylee Lepaio, Newberry

Aisjah Roan, Lincoln Memorial

Janitsha Williams, Wingate

Jenni Gust, Lenoir-Rhyne



Shonice Pettaway, Queens

Chloe Bully, Catawba

Tanesha Stenson, Coker

Ansley Ricker, Mars Hill

Sierra Simpson, Anderson

Tasia Holdorf, Newberry



MaRanda Boddie, Lincoln Memorial

Antoinette McPhail, Catawba

Katie Williams, Brevard

Lesley Woods, Anderson

Kristen McMillion, Tusculum

Danielle Bongiorno, Lenoir-Rhyne



Kaitlyn Cupples, Carson-Newman

Madison Lenox, Brevard

Shelby Tricoli, Wingate

Alexis Dillard, Anderson

Jada Huntley, Catawba


SAC Player of the Year: Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne

SAC Freshman of the Year: Kaitlyn Cupples, Carson-Newman

SAC Coach of the Year: Todd Starkey, Lenoir-Rhyne



McClure Earns Second-Team All-SAC Honors



Lenoir-Rhyne University's R.J. McClure has been named to the 2013-14 All-South Atlantic Conference Men's Basketball Second Team, league officials announced today.


McClure, a senior guard from Canton, N.C., leads the team in scoring (17.8 ppg) and three-pointers made (74) and has guided the Bears to a 16-10 overall record including a 15-7 mark in league play this year. L-R finished tied for third in the conference standings.


McClure became the 51st player in school history to score 1,000 points this year, a feat he accomplished on Wednesday, February 26, against Coker in a 77-68 win on Senior Night.


In addition, McClure set the South Atlantic Conference single-game record for points (52) and school single-game record for three-pointers made (12) on Wednesday, January 15, against Newberry on the road.


Lenoir-Rhyne hosts Newberry (18-8) in the Quarterfinal Round of the 2014 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Men's Basketball Tournament on Wednesday beginning at 8:00 p.m., at Shuford Memorial Gymnasium.


2013-14 All-South Atlantic Conference

Men's Basketball Teams


Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial

Antoine Davis, Carson-Newman

Chandler Hash, Anderson

Dondray Walker, Newberry

Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman

Jarrett Stokes, Queens


Lorenza Ross, Lincoln Memorial

R.J. McClure, Lenoir-Rhyne

Deion Turman, Wingate

Ryan Daye, Wingate

C.J. Gleaton, Anderson

Chance Jones, Lincoln Memorial



Julian Nelson, Coker

Darius Moose, Brevard

Tyrece Little, Catawba

Demarkus Smith, Newberry

Josh Clyburn, Queens

Kijuan Arrington, Catawba



Isiah Cureton, Wingate

Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial

Trevon Shaw, Brevard

Josh Dominguez, Wingate

Gerald Evans, Newberry

Player of the Year: Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial

Freshman of the Year: Isiah Cureton, Wingate

Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial


Photo Courtesy: Jazmine Charles, L-R Athletics