files/MDTB-GBR490x110-March2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
36°F | 42°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
20°F | 34°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Johnson, Ward Eliminated at State Tournament PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Saturday, 22 February 2014 11:28

Blake Johnson and Kyle Ward of the Avery High wrestling team were both eliminated from competition at the Class 1A State Wrestling Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum.



Johnson (26-22), a heavyweight, was eliminated in his first-round consolation match as he lost to Jerry Bennett of Mount Airy by pinfall (3:50); Ward (19-22), a 220 pounder, lost by pinfall and was eliminated as well. Josh Butrim of Trask-Heide pineed Ward in 4:09.


But the Vikings have two wrestlers in the finals later today. Ty Franklin (50-2) of the Vikings take on Breyer Owen of Rosman in the 132 pound championship match tonight; Ryan Sheppard (38-10) of the Vikings will face Spencer McCoy of Swain County in the 195 pound finals.


In Class 4A, Demetre Kostis (55-1) of WHS takes on Garrett Hinton (46-3) of Jack Britt in the 132 pound championship match tonight at 6 p.m.; in Class 2A, Michael Elliott (35-2) of Ashe County will face Brody McCrath (54-3) of Croatan in the 152 pound title match.



220 Lbs:

Josh Butrim, Trask- Heide FALL Kyle Ward, Avery pin 4:09

Tucker Mcelrath, Mitchell FALL Jonathon Torres, West Montgomery pin :51


285 Lbs:

Jerry Bennett, Mt Airy FALL Blake Johnson, Avery pin 3:50

Matthew Peedin, Princeton FALL Andres Villagomez, Rosman pin 1:44




Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

GoBlueRidge Poll

Which song do you want to hear on The Highway?