Ron Long, Athletic Director of the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas today announced the Coaches selections for the 2014 North Carolina Tar Heels and

the South Carolina Sandlappers.


These Coaches have been selected and approved to coach their respective teams in the 78th Annual Shrine Bowl Game to be played on Saturday, December 20th at beautiful Gibbs Stadium on the campus of Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina.


Darrell Brewer, who will enter his 11th year at Avery High in Newland, was also selected to coach in the East-West Senior All-Star Game in Greensboro, N.C., in July of 2012. Brewer is 63-64 with the Vikings.


He's led them to the state playoffs ten times, and he led the Vikings to a Western Highlands 1A/2A Conference title in 2005.


Long added, “All respective North and South Carolina Coaches Associations and governing bodies have approved their coaching selections for participation in this Carolina’s Football Classic affectionately known as America’s Original All Star High School Football Game - where strong legs run, so crippled legs might walk. “


Head Coach Hal Capps, Mooresville

Coach Glen Padgett, Concord

Coach Tom Eanes, Wilmington-Ashley

Coach Barry Honeycutt, Corinth-Holders

Coach Darrell Brewer, Avery County

Coach David Green, Burlington-Williams

Coach Rick Larrick, West Forsyth

Adult Trainer Susan Ennis, Leesville Road


Head Coach Ben Freeman, Pelion

Coach Justin Gentry, Chapin

Coach Paul Southerland, Pendleton

Coach Jeff Calabrese, Hartsville

Coach Trey Woodberry, West Florence

Coach Robert Williams, Greenville-Christ Church Episcopal

Coach Joe Watson, Greenville-J.L. Mann

Adult Trainer Stacey Baynham, Lexington-River Bluff