Lenoir-Rhyne University senior outfielder Ivan Vieitez has been named to the 2014 All-South Atlantic Conference Baseball Preseason First Team, league officials announced this afternoon.


In addition, the Bears were voted eighth in the preseason coaches poll. Catawba, last year's conference regular season champion, was picked to repeat. Catawba (36-16) is ranked No. 24 in the NCAA Division II Collegiate Baseball Newspaper national poll. The Indians received nine out of the possible 11 first-place votes.

Last year, the Bears finished with a record of 21-29 overall including a 12-15 mark in league play. Lenoir-Rhyne finished seventh in the conference standings as well.

Vieitez, a native of Miami, Fla., led the Bears in several offensive categories last spring including batting average (.361), runs scored (40), hits (65), triples (six), home runs (seven), slugging percentage (.600), total bases (108) and stolen bases (14).

As the team's top reliever as well, Vieitez finished with a 4-1 record with a pair of saves and 27 strikeouts. For his efforts, Vieitez earned First-Team All-SAC and All-State honors in 2013.

Lenoir-Rhyne, under first-year Head Coach Tom Fleenor, opens the 2014 season on Saturday, February 1, against North Greenville in a doubleheader beginning at 1:00 p.m., at Bears Field.

2014 South Atlantic Conference
Baseball Preseason Coaches Poll

1. Catawba 97 (9)
2t. Tusculum 78
2t. Wingate 78
4. Coker 76
5. Newberry 71 (2)
6. Lincoln Memorial 53
7. Carson-Newman 49
8. Lenoir-Rhyne 42
9. Brevard 22
10. Anderson 20
11. Mars Hill 19

2014 All-South Atlantic Conference
Preseason Baseball Teams
C - Josh Clark, Wingate
1B - Albert Baur, Newberry
2B - Julio Zubillaga, Catawba
SS - Evan Rogers, Mars Hill
3B - Ryan Cranmer, Newberry
OF - Thomas Spitz, Wingate
OF - Ivan Vieitez, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF - Keaton Hawks, Catawba
DH - Eric Barbieri, Newberry
SP - Jonathan Rosenberger, Newberry
SP - Olen Little, Wingate
SP - T.J. Rinoski, Wingate
RP - John-Austin Shepard, Tusculum

C - Chas Goodwin, Newberry
1B - Fico Kondla, Coker
2B - Bo Ausmus, Carson-Newman
SS - Shea Bell, Coker
3B - Blake Prince, Wingate
OF - Paul Kronenfeld, Catawba
OF - Jermale Paige, Newberry
OF - Blake Houston, Catawba
DH - Scott Miller, Lincoln Memorial
SP - John Tuttle, Catawba
SP - Andrew Goot, Coker
SP - Ben Currie, Wingate
RP - Landon Beck, Anderson

Photo Courtesy: Ivan Vieitez, L-R Athletics