files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Thornton, Briggs Named To Scholar Squad PDF Print
Written by Whitney Noble   
Wednesday, 18 December 2013 16:05

The Lees-McRae women's soccer team junior duo of Meagan Thornton and Kaitlyn Briggsboth were named to the 2013 College Division Women's Scholar

All-South Region team as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Tuesday.


Thornton (Millville, N.C.) was named to the second team, while Briggs (Oviedo, Fla.) earned honorable mention honors. It was the first time both players earned the award.


Thornton led the team in scoring this season with eight goals and five assists for 21 points en route to her first career All-Conference Carolinas First team selection. She also earned spots on the NSCAA all-Southeast Region and North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association all-State First-team. Thornton holds a 3.32 grade-point average and is an elementary education major.


Briggs put together the best individual season of her career this fall. She posted a 0.63 goals against average which ranks second in program history. In 15 matches Briggs allowed just nine goals which included nine shutouts. During her three-year career Briggs has 21 shutouts and shares the top spot in school history in that category. She holds a 3.45 grade-point-average and is majoring in Athletic Training.


The Bobcats claimed the program's third consecutive Conference Carolinas regular season title this fall, earning the top overall seed in the league tournament for the third straight year on the heels of a 10-match unbeaten streak. Head Coach Nick Whiting's squad enjoyed one of the best stretches of defensive play in program history during the streak, keeping eight straight clean sheets while not allowing a goal for more than 830 consecutive minutes.


Lees-McRae (10-7-1, 8-1 CC) is expected to return 19 letter-winners from this year's Conference Carolinas regular season championship squad, including rising seniors Briggs, Thornton and Ariana Smith (Jackson, N.J.).

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email