High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
57°F | 44°F | 70%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Cottrell Named SoCon Wrestler of Week PDF Print
Written by Ben Winterrowd   
Wednesday, 20 November 2013 16:27

The Southern Conference tabbed Appalachian State University wrestler Dylan Cottrell (Spencer, W.Va./Roane County) as the conference’s wrestler of the week, the SoCon office announced on




The Spencer, W.Va. native has dominated to this point in the season. Cottrell took first place at the Roadrunner Open at 149 pounds last Sunday to move to 9-0 on the young season. The redshirt-freshman grappler is also 4-0 in duals thus far.


“Dylan had a great opening weekend to the 2013-2014 season,” said head coach JohnMark Bentley. “He will continue to improve each week and I am excited to see him come March.”


On Sunday, Cottrell won his first two matches by way of technical fall over Alex Abono (CSU Bakersfield - Unattached) and Robby Workman (Embry-Riddle) and then won three straight decisions over Kyle Chene (Cal Poly), Frank Goodwin (Maryland) and Blake Kastl (Cal Poly) to capture first place. Cottrell defeated Kastl in the first place bout by a 7-0 decision and headlined the day for the Black and Gold.


Prior to the Roadrunner Open, Cottrell started the season 4-0 in dual matches winning against opponents from Anderson University, Cumberland University, Grand Canyon and CSU Bakersfield. Cottrell earned a 4-3 decision over Division II All-American Mike Hamel last Friday in a dual against Grand Canyon, while pinning Dalton Kelly (Bakersfield) later in the night.


Cottrell is the first wrestler of the week for the Mountaineers since Zack Strickland (Muncy, Pa/Muncy) earned the honor on January 9, 2013. The honor for Cottrell marks the 30th time a Mountaineer has garnered wrestler of the week honors from the SoCon since 2000-01. Former Mountaineer Austin Trotman is second all-time in conference history having been a repeat winner seven times.



Photo Courtesy: Dylan Cottrell, ASU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email