High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
42°F | 61°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
39°F | 60°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Two Mountaineers Named All-SoCon PDF Print
Written by Sean Jones   
Wednesday, 20 November 2013 12:15

Georgia Southern and Samford each placed three players on the All-Southern Conference team and the Bulldogs and Furman each claimed two individual

awards as the league office announced its all-conference teams and awards Wednesday.

The teams and awards were voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for themselves or their own players. Samford’s Michaela Reesor was selected by the coaches as the SoCon Player of the Year, while teammate Chelsi Carter was named Libero of the Year.

Reesor was also the only member of the all-conference team to earn her second first-team all-conference nod. Carter averaged 5.19 digs per set to help the Bulldogs finish third in SoCon play.Furman took the other two awards, with Ashton Gregory earning Freshman of the Year honors and Michelle Young taking the Coach of the Year award.

Young led Furman to a 12-4 record in conference play and a perfect 8-0 mark at home in 2013 to lead the Paladins to the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament.Georgia Southern’s Jamie DeRatt and Kym Coley both received first-team all-conference nods, while teammate Katlin Minnerly was voted to the second team.

Reesor joined teammate Katie Murphy on the first-team all-conference squad and fellow Bulldog Stephanie Palmer made the second team.Furman’s Christina Dorismond, UNCG’s Karrian Chambers and Appalachian State’s Emily Corrigan were also first-team selections.

Furman’s Jo Wilks and Appalachian State’s Lauren Gray each earned second-team selections, giving the Paladins and Mountaineers two players each on the All-SoCon squad. Joining them on the second team were Elon’s Cali Estes, Davidson’s Caroline Brown, Western Carolina’s Jordan Timmermann and Wofford’s Taylor Baird. Due to a tie in voting, eight players were selected to the second team instead of the usual seven.Gregory and teammate Annie Bierman were Furman’s representatives on the All-Freshman team.

Samford also placed two players on the All-Freshman squad, with Gabbi Greenwald and Erin Bognar earning spots on the roster. Elon’s Ally Karle, UNCG’s Sara Hohman and Davidson’s Mikayla Derochie rounded out the team.The SoCon Volleyball Championship begins on Friday at Timmons Arena on the campus of Furman University. Georgia Southern, Furman, Samford, UNCG, Appalachian State, Western Carolina, Wofford and Elon make up the tournament field. The championship match is set for 6 p.m. on Sunday and will be broadcast on ESPN3. 

First Team All-SoCon
Emily Corrigan, APP
Christina Dorismond, FUR
Kym Coley, GSU
Jamie DeRatt, GSU
Karrian Chambers, UNCG
Katie Murphy, SAM
Michaela Reesor, SAM

Second Team All-SoCon
Lauren Gray, APP
Caroline Brown, DAV
Cali Estes, ELON
Jo Wilks, FUR
Katlin Minnerly, GSU
Stephanie Palmer, SAM
Jordan Timmermann, WCU
Taylor Baird, WOF

All- Freshman Team
Mikayla Derochie, DAV
Ally Karle, ELON
Annie Bierman, FUR
Ashton Gregory, FUR
Sara Hohman, UNCG
Erin Bognar, SAM
Gabbi Greenwald, SAM

Player of the Year
Michaela Reesor, Samford

Libero of the Year
Chelsi Carter, Samford

Freshman of the Year
Ashton Gregory, Furman

Coach of the Year
Michelle Young, Furman

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email