files/MDT&SB-GBR490x110-Aug-2014.jpg files/redtails.gif
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
80°F | 64°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
81°F | 63°F | 40%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Listen Live Listen Live Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Bears Move Up Another Spot In National Polls PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 19 November 2013 09:01

The Lenoir-Rhyne Football Team moved up one spot to No. 13 in this week's AFCA NCAA Division II Coaches Top 25 Poll. AFCA is the American Football Coaches Association.


Lenoir-Rhyne (10-1), which has won 10 straight contests, earned the top seed in Super Region II and will host an NCAA Division II Second Round Playoff game.


L-R will face the winner of a first-round game between Carson-Newman (9-2) and Newberry (9-2) on Saturday, November 30, at Moretz Stadium beginning at Noon.


Lenoir-Rhyne will be making its second straight appearance in the postseason after missing the playoffs for 50 years. Last year, L-R defeated Fort Valley State, 21-6, in the opening round of the playoffs for its first postseason win since 1962.


Lenoir-Rhyne hasn't won 10 games in a single season since an 11-1 mark in 1962 when the Bears advanced to the NAIA National Championship game. The Bears also matched their longest winning streak in 45 years.


Carson-Newman (No. 18) and Newberry (No. 25) are the other two conference schools also ranked nationally in the coaches poll this week.


Lenoir-Rhyne also won its third consecutive South Atlantic Conference Championship (2011-13) this fall. The Bears have now won the SAC Championship six times in school history.




Football Coaches Top 25 Poll

(November 18, 2013)

1. Minnesota State-Mankato 11-0

2. Northwest Missouri State 11-0

3. Colorado State-Pueblo 11-0

4. Henderson State (Ark.) 11-0

5. Minnesota-Duluth 10-1

6. Shepherd (W.Va.) 10-0

7. Ohio Dominican 10-0

8. North Carolina-Pembroke 9-1

9. Winston-Salem State (N.C.) 9-1

10. Indianapolis (Ind.) 10-1

11. Bloomsburg (Pa.) 10-1

12. St. Cloud State (Minn.) 10-1

13. Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.) 10-1

14. Emporia State (Kan.) 9-1

15. West Chester (Pa.) 10-1

16. North Alabama 8-2

17. Pittsburg State (Kan.) 9-2

18. Carson-Newman (Tenn.) 9-2

19. West Texas A&M 9-2

20. Slippery Rock (Pa.) 9-2

21. Saginaw Valley State (Mich.) 9-2

22. Grand Valley State (Mich.) 9-2

23. Indiana (Pa.) 9-2

24. Virginia State 9-1

25. Newberry (S.C.) 9-2


Others receiving votes: Missouri Western St., 55; Azusa Pacific (Calif.), 45; West Alabama, 36; American International (Mass.), 21; Tuskegee (Ala.), 17; Colorado School of Mines, 13; Harding (Ark.), 12; Washburn (Kan.), 12; Midwestern St. (Texas), 11; Tarleton St. (Texas), 10; Delta St. (Miss.), 5; New Haven (Conn.), 3; Ouachita Baptist (Ark.), 3; Ferris St. (Mich.), 2.



Photo Courtesy: Jarrod Spears, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email