files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Feb-2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
42°F | 32°F | 50%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
55°F | 47°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Five L-R Players Named All-SAC PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Thursday, 07 November 2013 08:29

Five members of the Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Soccer Team were named to the 2013 All-South Atlantic Conference First and Second Teams, league officials announced today.


Of the five, sophomore forwards Garcelle Alequine (Wilmington, Del.) and Leah Mullins (Kissimmee, Fla.) and sophomore defender Amber Madriaga (Wailuku, Hawaii) were named to the All-SAC First Team.


Alequine leads the team in goals scored (nine) and total points (23) this year while Mullins has seven goals to go along with a team-leading six assists and 20 points.


Madriaga anchors a Lenoir-Rhyne defense which has limited its opponents to just 17 goals in 18 matches played to go along with six shutouts. Madriaga has tallied a goal and two assists so far this season.


Both Madriaga and Mullins earned first-team all-conference accolades for the second consecutive season.


Junior midfielder Hanna Kiebel (Parker, Colo.) and sophomore midfielder Emmi Dunn (Reading, Pa.) were named to the 2013 All-SAC Second Team for the Bears.


Kiebel, who earned all-league honors for the third straight season, has four goals and two assists this season while Dunn has six goals including a hat trick against Mars Hill (Oct. 9) in a 6-0 win this fall.


Lenoir-Rhyne (14-3-1) won the South Atlantic Conference Regular Season Championship for the fourth straight year and earned the top seed in the Food Lion SAC Women's Soccer Tournament.


L-R defeated eighth-seeded Carson-Newman by a 5-1 score last night in the quarterfinals at home and will face fifth-seeded Lincoln Memorial in the semifinals on Friday at 7:00 p.m., at Manchester Meadows in Rock Hill, S.C.



2013 All-South Atlantic Conference

Women's Soccer Teams



Garcelle Alequine, Lenoir-Rhyne

Leah Mullins, Lenoir-Rhyne




Amber Madriaga, Lenoir-Rhyne





Hanna Kiebel, Lenoir-Rhyne

Emmi Dunn, Lenoir-Rhyne


SAC Coach Of The Year: Cally Morrill, Lenoir-Rhyne

Photo Courtesy: Leah Mullins, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email