files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
52°F | 64°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
47°F | 68°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Ball, Brantz, Pena, and David Take Boone Races PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Tuesday, 05 November 2013 21:01

There’s a new Mayor in Boone, with Andy Ball taking the office by a large margin—joined by a long-time council member and two newcomers.  Early voters determined the outcome of the election, giving Ball 603 of his 1066 votes, with John Mena second with 350, Brad Harmon with 150, and 113 write-in votes for Jennifer Church. Incumbent councilman Rennie Brantz led all voters with 1127 votes, but only one vote ahead of newcomer Jennifer Pena—the two taking the two four-year terms.  Taking the final two-year term is newcomer Frank Quint David, with 1028 votes.


Each candidate took a turn at the microphone for comments, and those will be aired on High Country Radio.

In Blowing Rock, J.B. Lawrence returns to the mayor’s office, but voters turned out Tommy Lee Klutz Jr., while electing Doug Matheson, (425) Sue Sweeting, (410) and Ray Picket (279) in that order.

In Beech Mountain, E. Rick Miller took in 159 votes, while Paul Piquet took in 158, and Cindy Keller 147, ahead of Edward Plante with 71 and Barry Schorr with 61.

In Seven Devils, incumbents ran unopposed, and David Hooper, Kay Ehlinger, and David Ehmig were within a two votes of each other.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email