files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
57°F | 44°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Dunn Earns All-Conference Honors PDF Print
Written by Whitney Noble   
Saturday, 26 October 2013 00:49

Senior Tyler Dunn (Jasper, Ga.) finished 13th overall to lead the Lees-McRae College men's cross country team to a seventh-place performance at the Conference Carolinas Championships, and earn all-Conference Carolinas Third team honors on Friday afternoon.

Mount Olive College took home the team title with 29 points, followed by King University (53), North Greenville University (114), Pfeiffer University (122), and Belmont Abbey College (132). Limestone College was sixth with 154 points, followed by Lees-McRae (174), Erskine College (210), and Barton College (225).

Dunn continued his strong season with an award-winning performance, finishing 13th with a time of 26:15.74, to earn his first career all-conference honors and equal his personal best. Michael Davis (Independence, Va.) placed 26th with a mark of 27:17.95, as Sean Condon (Walnut Grove, N.C.) and Colby Shell (Wilkesboro, N.C.) posted times of 28:56.90 and 29:06.94, respectively.

Brenden Sherrill (Sherrills Ford, N.C.) rounded out the scorers with a mark of 29:11.13, while Cody McNeely (Salisbury, N.C.) and Jordan Meyer (Boiling Springs, S.C.) turned in a pair of strong performances to cap the day for the Bobcats.

In the women's race, senior Heather Peterman (Buford, Ga.) paced the Lees-McRae College women's cross country team at the Conference Carolinas Championships on Friday afternoon, posting a time of 24:04.80 in the five-kilometer race.

King University claimed the team title for the second straight year, totaling 45 points as Mount Olive College finished close behind with 60. Barton College was third with 93, followed by North Greenville University and Belmont Abbey College in a tie for fourth with 122. Converse College was sixth, followed by Pfeiffer University, Erskine College, Limestone College, and Lees-McRae.

Peterman turned in the top finish for the Bobcats with a time of 24:04.80, followed by Sarah Monday's (Lexington, N.C.) mark of 30:01.71. Jessica Hattabaugh (Hamilton, Mass.), Mekayla Boswell (Mocksville, N.C.), and Erin Bingham (West Jefferson, N.C.) rounded out the scorers for the Bobcats with a trio of strong performances.

Lees-McRae returns to the trails on Saturday, November 9 when the Bobcats travel to Charlotte, N.C. for the NCAA Division II Southeast Region Championships.

Photo Courtesy: Tyler Dunn, LMC Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email