GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/auto-banner-2014.gif

files/teacher-of-the-month.pngTodays ForecastToday:
41°F | 61°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
36°F | 67°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home SportsPass SportsPass Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
App State Softball Releases 2014 Schedule PDF Print
Written by Kelsey Campbell   
Monday, 07 October 2013 14:37

Appalachian State University softball head coach Shae Wesley released the 2014 slate on Monday, which will include 18 games at Sywassink/Lloyd Family Stadium.

 

 

The Mountaineers will begin the 2014 campaign when they travel to Tempe, Ariz. for the Kajikawa Classic. Appalachian will play San Diego State at 4 p.m. and Western Michigan at 6 p.m. on Feb. 6. They will continue play the next day at 5 p.m. when they take on Penn State. The tournament continues on Feb. 8 as the Mountaineers play Fresno State at 9 a.m. and Oregon at 2 p.m. The Kajikawa Classic will conclude on Feb. 9 when the Apps play Oregon State at 10 a.m.

 

Appalachian will then travel to the Buffalo Wild Wings Spartan Invitational in Spartanburg, S.C. on Feb. 14 to take on Presbyterian at 5 p.m. The Mountaineers' tournament play continues on Feb. 15 against Ball State at 11 a.m. and Virginia Tech at 5 p.m. and will conclude against George Mason on Sunday at 1 p.m.

 

The Apps will take on their third tournament of the season when they travel to Memphis, Tenn. for the Memphis Tournament on Feb. 21. They will start the day with two games against Murray State and Lipscomb at 12 p.m. and 2:30 p.m., respectively. Play continues on Feb. 22 with a 10 a.m. match up with Alabama A&M and a 3 p.m. game against Missouri State. The tournament will end on Feb. 23 when Appalachian takes on Evansville at 10 a.m.

 

The Charleston Southern Tournament in Charleston, S.C. will begin on Feb. 28 as the Mountaineers take on Colgate at 11 a.m. and Charleston Southern at 3 p.m. Appalachian will play Eastern Illinois on March 1 at 9 a.m. and will continue tournament play until March 2.

 

The Mountaineers' last tournament before conference play will take place in Conway, S.C. for the Chanticleer Challenge. The Apps will take on Bryant at 10 a.m. and Jacksonville State at 12 p.m. on March 7, before playing Jacksonville at 10 a.m. and Eastern Illinois at 4:30 p.m the next day. The tournament will conclude on March 9 with a 12 p.m. match up against Coastal Carolina.

 

App State opens its home slate and Southern Conference play on Saturday, March 15-16 as they take on Chattanooga at 1 p.m. on both days.

 

The Mountaineers will continue their home stand on Wednesday, March 19 in a doubleheader against Campbell at 4 p.m., before playing SoCon opponent Western Carolina on Saturday, March 22-23 at 1 p.m.

 

The Mountaineers will face off against N.C. Central in Raleigh, N.C. for one game on Wednesday, March 26 at 6 p.m., before returning to conference play against Samford in Birmingham, Ala. on Saturday, March 29-30 at 1 p.m.

 

Appalachian will return to the High Country on Wednesday, April 2 to play N.C. Central in two more games, starting at 5 p.m. They will remain in Boone for a weekend series against Georgia Southern on March 5-6 at 1 p.m.

 

The Apps will hit the road on Tuesday, March 8 when they play one game at ETSU at 5 p.m. and then travel to Elon, N.C. on Saturday, April 12-13 to play SoCon foe Elon for three games beginning at 1 p.m. The Mountaineers will conclude their road trip at Radford on Thursday, April 17 for a doubleheader, starting at 4 p.m.

 

The Mountaineers will play three straight series at Sywassink/Lloyd Family Stadium, as they take on USC Upstate on Wednesday, April 23 at 5 p.m., UNCG on April 26-27 at 1 p.m. and ETSU on April 30 at 5 p.m.

 

Appalachian will round out conference play when they travel to Greenville, S.C. to take on Furman on Saturday, May 3-4 at 1 p.m.

 

The Southern Conference tournament will take place on May 5-6 at a to be determined location.

 

The Mountaineers are the defending 2013 SoCon champions and had an undefeated record at home last season. Wesley will return 16 players from the 2013 roster, including one second-team all SoCon player and two all SoCon freshmen players.

 

 

ASU SOFTBALL SCHEDULE

Kajikawa Classic

Thu, Feb 06 San Diego State University at Tempe, Ariz. 4:00 p.m.

Thu, Feb 06 Western Michigan at Tempe, Ariz. 6:00 p.m.

Fri, Feb 07 Penn State at Tempe, Ariz. 5:00 p.m.

Sat, Feb 08 Oregon at Tempe, Ariz. TBA

Sat, Feb 08 Fresno State at Tempe, Ariz. 9:00 a.m.

Sun, Feb 09 Oregon State at Tempe, Ariz. 10:00 a.m.

 

Buffalo Wild Wings Spartan Invitational

Fri, Feb 14 Presbyterian at Spartanburg, S.C. 5:00 p.m.

Sat, Feb 15 Ball State at Spartanburg, S.C. 11:00 a.m.

Sat, Feb 15 Virginia Tech at Spartanburg, S.C. 5:00 p.m.

Sun, Feb 16 George Mason at Spartanburg, S.C. 1:00 p.m.

 

Memphis Tournament

Fri, Feb 21 Murray State at Memphis, Tenn. 12:00 p.m.

Fri, Feb 21 Lipscomb at Memphis, Tenn. 2:30 p.m.

Sat, Feb 22 Alabama A&M at Memphis, Tenn. 10:00 a.m.

Sat, Feb 22 Missouri State at Memphis, Tenn. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Feb 23 Evansville at Memphis, Tenn. 10:00 a.m.

 

Charleston Southern Tournament

Fri, Feb 28 Colgate at Charleston, S.C. 11:00 a.m.

Fri, Feb 28 Charleston Southern at Charleston, S.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 01 TBD (Based on Seed) at Charleston, S.C. TBA

Sat, Mar 01 Eastern Illinois at Charleston, S.C. 9:00 a.m.

Sun, Mar 02 TBD (Based on Seed) at Charleston, S.C

 

Fri, Mar 07 Bryant at Conw ay, S.C. 10:00 a.m.

Fri, Mar 07 Jacksonville State at Conw ay, S.C. 12:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 08 Jacksonville at Conw ay, S.C. 10:00 a.m.

Sat, Mar 08 Eastern Illinois at Conw ay, S.C. 4:30 p.m.

Sun, Mar 09 Coastal Carolina at Conw ay, S.C. 12:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 15 Chattanooga (DH-1) * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 15 Chattanooga (DH-2) * BOONE, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Mar 16 Chattanooga * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Wed, Mar 19 Campbell (DH-1) BOONE, N.C. 4:00 p.m.

Wed, Mar 19 Campbell (DH-2) BOONE, N.C. 6:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 22 Western Carolina (DH-1) * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 22 Western Carolina (DH-2) * BOONE, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Mar 23 Western Carolina * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Wed, Mar 26 North Carolina Central at Raleigh, N.C. 6:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 29 Samford (DH-1) * at Birmingham, Ala. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 29 Samford (DH-2) * at Birmingham, Ala. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Mar 30 Samford * at Birmingham, Ala. 1:00 p.m.

Wed, Apr 02 North Carolina Central (DH-1) BOONE, N.C. 5:00 p.m.

Wed, Apr 02 North Carolina Central (DH-2) BOONE, N.C. 7:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 05 Georgia Southern (DH-1) * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 05 Georgia Southern (DH-2) * BOONE, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Apr 06 Georgia Southern * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Tue, Apr 08 ETSU at Johnson City, Tenn. 5:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 12 Elon (DH-1) * at Elon, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 12 Elon (DH-2) * at Elon, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Apr 13 Elon * at Elon, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Thu, Apr 17 Radford (DH-1) at Radford, Va. 4:00 p.m.

Thu, Apr 17 Radford (DH-2) at BOONE, N.C. 6:00 p.m.

Wed, Apr 23 USC Upstate BOONE, N.C. 5:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 26 UNCG (DH-1) * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 26 UNCG (DH-2) * BOONE, N.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, Apr 27 UNCG * BOONE, N.C. 1:00 p.m.

Wed, Apr 30 ETSU BOONE, N.C. 5:00 p.m.

Sat, May 03 Furman (DH-1) * at Greenville, S.C. 1:00 p.m.

Sat, May 03 Furman (DH-2) * at Greenville, S.C. 3:00 p.m.

Sun, May 04 Furman * at Greenville, S.C. 1:00 p.m.

 

Southern Conference Championships

Wed, May 07 - Sat, May 10

Southern Conference Championships * at TBD TBA

 

* Conference Game

 

Photo Courtesy: Shae Wesley, App State Athletics

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg