files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
52°F | 64°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
47°F | 68°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Filing Complete for Watauga Co. Municipal Seats PDF Print
Written by Ashley Wilson   
Friday, 19 July 2013 11:46

The deadline for filing for open municipal seats in Watauga County ended Friday at noon, with several candidates holding off until the last minutes to enter races. In the Boone mayoral race, two downtown business owners filed: John Mena, owner of Haircut 101, and Brad Harmon, owner of Harmon's Dixie Pride. The two will be pitted against Boone town council member Andy Ball, who submitted his name on the first available day to file two weeks ago.



Joining the Boone town council race are James Milner, Matthew Capehart and Mark Templeton. Frank "Quint" David, Jennifer Peña, and current town council member Rennie Brantz filed on July 5.


For the remainder of municipal elections in Watauga County, the candidates are as follows:


Blowing Rock
J. B. Lawrence - Mayor

Dan Phillips – Mayor

Doug Matheson – Town Council

Ray Pickett – Town Council

Sue Sweeting – Town Council

Tommy Klutz – Town Council

Laurin Carter – Town Council

David Barker – Town Council



Seven Devils

David Hooper – Town Council

Kay Ehlinger – Town Council

David Ehmig – Town Council



Beech Mountain

Edward Plante – Town Council

Paul Piquet – Town Council

Rick Miller – Town Council

Cynthia Keller – Town Council

Barry Schorr – Town Council


Municipal elections will take place on November 5, 2013 across the state.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email